Skip to main content

Business: Finding Market Research + Market Share

A guide for students seeking Business resources in Kettering Library.

Finding Market Share

We have four different databases that specialize in market research and market share information. Each has a slightly different way of searching. 

If you are doing research off campus, you will need to authenticate using your entire 14-digit Kettering ID.

Be sure to reach out to a librarian if you need help. 

Books

Although often online resources have more updated information, we have a few books in the library with Market Share information. This can be helpful as a starting point, or for historical research.

Market Research Using Business Insights

Business Insights: Global combines an international perspective and sophisticated research tools to highlight business and industry information.

Start by entering your search terms in the box on the home page. If looking for a particular company, choose Company from the dropdown menu. (Dropdown options are: Article, Company, Country, Industry, Keyword)

Market share reports are located under the Industries tab on the home page.

Other research options for specific companies are located in the Company dropdown. 

Market Research using ProQuest

ProQuest Central is our most popular business database. It includes a sub-collection called Business Market Research:

Business Market Research Collection (1986 - current): contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, and Snapshots.

If you are researching marketing or market shares, there are a few options in Advanced Search that might help you find what you are looking for. 

Document Type allows you to limit your results to specific types of documents. We suggest checking these options for market research:

  • Annual Report
  • Business Plan
  • Company Profile
  • Industry Report
  • Market Report
  • Market Research

You can also search by company or NAICS code.

Market Research Using Statista

Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. 

If looking for a specific industry, click the Industries dropdown menu.

Our subscription allows access to Statista's Dossier feature, which is a fancy word for market reports.

Statista Dossiers: Market Reports on Specific Subject Matters — From Apple and e-commerce to social networking in China -- our dossiers give an insight into a diverse range of subjects and topic areas.

Use the Industries dropdown menu to access the Dossiers.

Marketing information can be found under the Consumer Markets dropdown menu.

If you need a bit of help searching Statista, watch a tutorial here.

Market Research using Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is our newest business database. It is a mostly full-text, major business resource which includes access to market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and Harvard Business Review.

The main search page allows limiting by Publication Type, and for market research we suggest using the Industry Profile type.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter