Skip to main content

EP 446: Solid State Physics: Journals + Databases

Course guide to help prepare students for their Research Paper and Presentation.

Searching for Articles

Feel free to start your search on Kettering's database page, which lists every single database subscribed to by the library. Listed below are databases relevant to research in Physics. 

If you are off campus you will need your entire 14-digit student ID number to authenticate into the databases.

Physics Databases

Top Condensed Matter Physics Journals

Kettering subscribes to 17 of the 20 most common cited journals in solid-state/condensed-matter physics as determined by Journal Citation Reports. Those journals are listed below and are a good place to start your research.

To search for these journals and more off campus, start here.

Backward + Forward Citation Searching

Citation searching, sometimes called cited reference searching, refers to finding articles that have cited a previously published older work (i.e. following research forward). Citation searching can also include looking at the citations within a paper (i.e. the Reference List) to trace research backwards.

The number of times a paper is cited in the work of others can be an indication of its usefulness. Through citation searching, you can discover how a known idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended, or corrected. Citation analysis can also be used to identify emerging areas of research, identify a field's leading researchers and to assess research output.

CREATION MOVES FORWARD IN SCIENTIFIC PUBLICATION

RESEARCH MOVES BACKWARD

The Kettering database Web of Science has a 'Citation Network' box next to each article. This gives a snapshot of how many times the article was cited (forward citation searching) and how many cited references the article contains (backward citation searching.) 

The Citation Map below shows a visualization of both backward and forward citation searching. Note that only articles included inside Web of Science are counted.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter