Skip to main content

Applied Biology: Books + Databases

A LibGuide to assist students in Applied Biology classes with research, lab safety, and searching for protocols.

Suggest a Book

Is there a specific book that would help with your research? Suggest it here and the librarians will consider it for the library.

We take suggestions for both physical books and ebooks.

Suggest a book

Google Book Search

Google Books allows you to search approximately 30 million books. While not able to provide full text for in-copyright works, this type of research can still be helpful.

Biology Databases

Kettering library databases are searchable collections of academic journals, conference proceedings, and other publications. We subscribe to each one individually based on Kettering curriculum.

Databases are accessible on or off campus. Your 14-digit student ID number is used for authentication from outside Kettering's network.

Backward + Forward Citation Searching

Citation searching, sometimes called cited reference searching, refers to finding articles that have cited a previously published older work (i.e. tracing research forward). Citation searching can also include looking at the citations within a paper (i.e. the Reference List) to trace research backwards.

The number of times a paper is cited in the work of others can be an indication of its usefulness. Through citation searching, you can discover how a known idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended, or corrected. Citation analysis can also be used to identify emerging areas of research, identify a field's leading researchers and to assess research output.

CREATION MOVES FORWARD IN SCIENTIFIC PUBLICATION

RESEARCH MOVES BACKWARD

The Kettering database Web of Science has a 'Citation Network' box next to each article. This gives a snapshot of how many times the article was cited (forward citation searching) and how many cited references the article contains (backward citation searching.) 

The Citation Map above shows a visualization of both backward and forward citation searching. Note that only articles included inside Web of Science are counted.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter