Skip to main content

CILE 400: Thesis - Culminating Undergraduate Experience

A guide to help Kettering students with Thesis research prep and searching the Digital Thesis Archive.

APA Books

Citations in APA Format

For a full breakdown of citation types and examples in APA Format, please see this site.Below, you will find some common examples.

Citing Journal Articles

Journal Article From Library Database with DOI - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number. doi: doi number

Example

Bailey, N.W. (2012). Evolutionary models of extended phenotypes. Trends in Ecology & Evolution, 27(3), 561-569. doi: 10.1016/j.tree.2012.05.011

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Bailey, 2012)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

(Bailey, 2012, p. 562)

 

Journal Article From a Website - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number if given). Retrieved from URL

Example

Flachs, A. (2010). Food for thought: The social impact of community gardens in the Greater Cleveland Area. Electronic Green Journal, 1(30). Retrieved from http://escholarship.org/uc/item/6bh7j4z4

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

(Flachs, 2010)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Flachs, 2010, Conclusion section, para. 3)

Note: In this example there were no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, in this case you can cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from. If there are no page or paragraph numbers and no marked section, leave this information out.

 

Journal Article In Print - One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of article: Subtitle if any. Name of Journal, Volume Number(Issue Number), first page number-last page number.

Example

Jungers, W.L. (2010). Biomechanics: Barefoot running strikes back. Nature, 463(2), 433-434.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Jungers, 2010)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page number)

Example: (Jungers, 2010, p. 433)

 

For more information on citing journal articles, click here.


Columbia College, Vancouver, Canada. 2018, Dec. 4. APA Citation 6th Edition Guide. Retrieved April 27, 2019 from https://columbiacollege-      ca.libguides.com/apa/images.

Citing Books & E-Books

Book In Print With One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of book: Subtitle if given (edition if given and is not first edition). Publication City, Province, State or Country: Publisher Name often shortened.

Note: For cities in the US and Canada list the city name and the province or state code. For other countries, list the city name and the country.

Example

Watson, J. (2012). Human caring science: A theory of nursing (2nd ed.). Sudbury, MA: Jones & Bartlett Learning.

Note: For cities in the US and Canada list the city name and the province or state code. For other countries, list the city name and the country.

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Watson, 2012)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Watson, 2012, p. 70)

 

For information on citing books, click here.


 

eBook From a Library Database with One Author

Author's Last Name, First Initial. Second Initial if Given. (Year of Publication). Title of book: Subtitle if given (edition if given and is not first edition). Retrieved from Database Name database.

Example

Waldau, P. (2010). Animal rights: What everyone needs to know. Retrieved from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) database. 

In-Text Paraphrase

(Author's Last Name, Year)

Example: (Waldau, 2010)

In-Text Quote

(Author's Last Name, Year, p. Page Number)

Example: (Waldau, 2010, p. 101)

 

For more information on citing e-books, click here.


Columbia College, Vancouver, Canada. 2018, Dec. 4. APA Citation 6th Edition Guide. Retrieved April 27, 2019 from https://columbiacollege-      ca.libguides.com/apa/images.

Citing Visual Aids

Image Reproduced from a Magazine or Journal

Note: Applies to Graphs, Charts, Drawings, Maps, Tables and Photographs

Figure X. Description of the image or title of the image. Adapted from "Title of Article," by Article Author's First Initial. Second Initial. Last Name, year, day, (for a magazine) or year (for a journal), Title of Magazine or Journal, volume number, page(s). Copyright year by name of copyright holder.

Note: Information about the image is placed directly below the image in your assignment.

Example:

Black and white male figure exercising

Figure 1. Man exercising. Adapted from "Yoga: Stretching Out," by A. N. Green, and L. O. Brown, 2006, May 8, Sports Digest, 15, p. 22. Copyright 2006 by Sports Digest Inc.


Image Reproduced From a Website

Note: Applies to Graphs, Charts, Drawings, Tables and Photographs

Figure x. Description of the image or image title if given. Adapted from "Title of Website," by Author/Creator's First Initial. Second Initial. Last Name if given, publication date if given, Title of Website. Retrieved Month, day, year that you last viewed the website, from url. Copyright date by Name of Copyright Holder.

Note: Information about the image is placed directly below the image in your assignment.

Example:

A

B

C

7

55

9

--

~

~

iii

==

66

Figure 2. Table of symbols. Adapted from "Case One Study Results," by G. A. Black, 2006, Strong Online. Retrieved June 14, 2013, from http://www.strongonline/casestudies/one.html. Copyright 2010 by G.L. Strong Ltd.


Columbia College, Vancouver, Canada. 2018, Dec. 4. APA Citation 6th Edition Guide. Retrieved April 27, 2019 from https://columbiacollege-      ca.libguides.com/apa/images.

Heading Structure

Please see this document for an example of how to use APA style headings and subheadings. 


Columbia College, Vancouver, Canada. 2018, Dec. 4. APA Citation 6th Edition Guide. Retrieved April 27, 2019 from https://columbiacollege-ca.libguides.com/apa/reference-list.

Highlighted Citation Manager: EndNote

EndNote basic is a free limited version citation manager that is available for students. All you have to do is set up a free account here, and you can search, save and use your research sources. EndNote basic has many great features including:

Built-in connections to popular databases

Saving and organizing up to 50,000 references

Integration with Microsoft Word 

Multiple bibliography formats including MLA & APA

Give it a try today to help keep your research organized!

Citation Managers

What is a Citation Manager? 
A Citation Manager is simply a piece of software, website, or browser extension that can help you organize the papers you have used for research. It keeps track of the citations (so the author, title, date, etc) of each paper, and allows you to then plug each citation into your Reference List. Some of them even allow very specific citations styles for different disciplines (like AIP for physics) instead of the more common APA and MLA styles.

Citeulike is a free service for managing and discovering scholarly references.

EndNote Basic is the free version of the popular reference software. Features storage for up to 50,000 references, the 20 most popular bibliographic styles, and 2GB of file storage.

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research in your field

ReadCube is a free desktop and browser-based program for managing, annotating, and accessing academic research articles

RefWorks is web-based bibliographic software that enables you to organize your research, include citations while you write your paper, build a bibliography in a variety of formats, import references from many data sources, and create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.).

Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for.

About this Guide

This guide is used/adapted with the permission of Seneca College Libraries. For information please contact lcc@senecacollege.ca.

Note: When copying this guide, please retain this box.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter