Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives and 2 million new businesses. Includes data on over 200 million residents as well as new movers/homeowners. Special features include a background and criminal history search. Information provided on U. S. healthcare professionals. Includes a jobs database and email marketing. [How to use A-Z Databases]
Contains every article published by ACM in two distinct collections: The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, which contains citations/abstracts only, and The ACM Full-Text Collection, which is full text. [How to use ACM Digital Library]
Subjects: Computer Science, Information Technology
Full text. Comprehensive collection of journals in the chemical and related sciences. Includes access to about 40 journals published by the American Chemical Society. [No coverage of ACS ebooks.] [How to use American Chemical Society]
Full text. An archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance. [How to use arXiv]
Subjects—Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
Full text. A collection of materials from ASME including their 23 Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present, ASME Press ebooks (1993 - present), and citation-only Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present. [How to use ASME Digital Collection]
Subjects: Mechanical Engineering, Aerospace, Automotive Systems, CAD [computer-aided design], Defense, Energy, Nanotechnology, Robotics, Tribology Note: ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Codes are in physical books in the library at Call # REF TJ 290.
ASME Technical Papers from 1965-1990 are housed in the NE corner file cabinets and can be looked up in the Library's Catalog.
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Contains full text and the most current, up to date standards. [How to use ASTM Compass Standards].
International standards for scientists and engineers.
Weekly magazine published by the American Chemical Society that covers science and technology, business and industry, policy, education, and employment aspects of the chemistry field. Note: must access archival issues through “Back Issues” link, not C&EN Archive, which is a separate product.
Digitized theses from Kettering students, covering all majors. Notes: Users must sign in with Kettering credentials. If the thesis is marked confidential by the employer it may not be visible. [How to use Digital Thesis Archive]
2003-present. Ask a librarian for earlier requests.
The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. [How to use Digital Commons Network]
Citations and abstracts only (no full-text) from 5,000 journals and conference proceedings in all engineering fields. Most comprehensive overall engineering database. [How to use Engineering Village—Compendex]
[1969 to present] Subjects: nuclear technology, transportation, civil engineering, materials engineering, aerospace engineering, bioengineering, chemical and process engineering control, mechanical engineering, petroleum engineering, automotive engineering
Mostly full text. Articles and citations in the field of education with the purpose of improving practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making and research. Able to limit to full text results. [How to use ERIC [Educational Resources]]
Full text. Free access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, which include Congressional, Presidential and Federal Agency materials. From GPO, the US Government Printing Office.
Subjects: Government, Congressional, Presidential, Federal
Some full text. A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Note: In Settings > Library Links there is the ability to add “Kettering University” so if we have the full text you’ll be able to click through to our holdings. [How to use Google Scholar]
Google Scholar Button extension available in Chrome browser. Scholar Droid app on android.
The University subscribes to GrantForward Funding Opportunity Search and Recommendation service, which is open to all members of our institution. We invite you to sign up to use the service to keep your awareness of funding opportunities. Sign up for a user account using your Kettering email address. [How to use GrantForward]
The world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration. Global Plants lets herbaria share their plant type specimens, experts determine and update plant names, and students discover and learn about plants in context. [How to use JSTOR Global Plants]
Some full text. A digital repository with 10 million+ volumes. Created for the purpose of preserving the cultural record, and encompassing every subject from the Arts & Humanities to the Social & Physical Sciences, in many languages and from around the world. Able to limit to full text. [How to use HathiTrust Digital Library]
Mostly full text. A resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. To limit to full text: Advanced Search > Content Filter > My Subscribed Content. [How to use IEEE Xplore]
Video database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple demonstrations. Kettering subscribes five collections in Biology: Genetics, Cell Biology, Neuroscience, Developmental Biology, and Biology 2: Mouse, Zebrafish & Chick and three collections in Chemistry: General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, and Analytic Chemistry. [How to use JoVE Science Education]
Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement. [How to use Knovel Science + Engineering Collection]
Watch over 30,000 Documentaries, Classic, and Indie Films on your desktop, mobile phone, or other streaming devices for students, professors, and staff. [How to use Kanopy]
Examples of producers include the Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus or devices.
Real-life situations and actual conversations are used to learn a new language. You’ll learn grammar, phrases and their use in practical situations. Learning through foreign films now included. App available for iOS + android. [How to use Mango Languages]
Subjects: Language Learning, English as a Second Language
The Michigan Academician is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed academic journal published three times per year. One issue each year includes the abstracts of papers/posters presented at the Michigan Academy’s annual conference. [How to use Michigan Academician]
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. [How to use Modern Language Association (MLA) (Bibliography & Directory)]
Full text. Features contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today’s top social issues. Continuously updated pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies, court-case overviews, periodical articles, tables/charts/graphs, and more. [How to use Opposing Viewpoints in Context]
Proceedings of the IEEE is the leading journal to provide in-depth review, survey, and tutorial coverage of the technical developments in electronics, electrical and computer engineering, and computer science.
PROLA provides immediate access to the APS journal collection dating back to the first volume of each journal. A subscription to PROLA gives access to all journal content, except for the current year and the preceding three years.
A broad array of business, humanities, and science & technology information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market-focused trade news. ABI/INFORM features the latest news from top sources like the Wall Street Journal and Financial Times and is widely recommended as an excellent source for all business disciplines and courses. [How to use ProQuest Global]
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Full-text Technical papers from 1906-present from the Society of Automotive Engineers as well as Ground Vehicle Standards. Indexing of all SAE publications back to 1996 and STAPP Car Crash Conference papers 1966 to the present. [How to use SAE Mobilus]
Able to limit to full-text. ScienceDirect is the leading database for journal articles and ebooks in science, engineering, and medical literature. [1823-present] “ScienceDirect” app available on iOS & android. More than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals. [How to use ScienceDirect]
To limit results to full text: Advanced Search > Refine your search > Subscribed Publications and Open Access
SciFinder® is your portal to chemistry and related information providing easy access to the most trusted collection of chemical substances, reactions and literature references in the world curated by expert scientists, not robots.
Provides direct access to quantitative data (statistics, forecasts, studies, dossiers and industry reports) on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Includes current infographics. [How to use Statista Statistics Portal]
Full text. A collection of 24,000+ ebooks that carry the high standards of the affiliated institutions and their researchers, with rigorous peer-review, deep scholarship, and influential connections to community and society. [How to use University Press eBooks]
Subjects: Humanities—Agriculture, Education, Fine Arts/Music, Geography + Anthropology, History, Language + Literature, Law, Philosophy/Psychology/Religion, Political Science, Technology Note: chapter downloads allowed, max of approx. 100 pgs—full book downloads require installation of Adobe Digital Editions and an Adobe ID
Worldwide catalog of library holdings. Search for books, music, and videos and WorldCat lets you find that item and locate a library nearby that has it. If Kettering doesn't have the book we can usually obtain it through InterLibrary Loan. [How to use WorldCat]
Citations only (no full text) with article linker to full text within Kettering’s subscribed content. Access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, with complete cited reference searching and citation mapping. [How to use Web of Science]