Skip to main content

All Databases

A how-to guide to each of Kettering's databases.

ArXiv

Using ArXiv

Open access to 1,150,260 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Started in August 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators.

Users can retrieve papers from arXiv via the web interface. Registered authors may use our web interface to submit their articles to arXiv. Authors can also update their submissions if they choose, though previous versions remain available.

Click on help (top right) and then on To Subscribe to E-Mail Listings, under User Accounts, to learn more about how to sign up to receive an email each morning with the latest arXiv additions.

To find an article (Simple search): Enter a few title words and/or author names and/or abstract words into the "Search or Article-id" box in the top right of most pages. The pull-down menu that defaults to "All papers" may be changed to restrict the search to titles, authors, abstracts, or extend to the full-text.

If you know the identifier (or archive and paper number): All arXiv submissions are assigned a unique identifier of the form yymm.nnnn (or arch-ive/yymmnnn for older submissions). To retrieve the abstract page of a paper simply enter the identifier in the "Search or Article-id" box in the top right of most pages.

Using the web interface, you can search for articles based on archive subject area, title, author, keywords in the full abstracts, etc.

Upon loading the abstract page for an article, you will find a number of choices for download formats. These selections appear in the top right corner of the page, after the text of the abstract.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter