Skip to main content

All Databases

A how-to guide to each of Kettering's databases.

The Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers

Using the Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers

The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.

IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than three-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. More than two-million documents are in robust, dynamic HTML format.

The content in IEEE Xplore comprises:

  • 170+ journals
  • 1,400+ conference proceedings
  • 5,100+ technical standards
  • Approximately 2,000 eBooks
  • 400+ educational courses

Approximately 20,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

Many IEEE Standards can now be viewed in HTML with a new interface that lets you interact like never before.

Here are some of the new features:

  • Standard version timeline - get the version history of a standard at-a-glance.
  • Search within - search for keywords within standards documents.
  • Text size adjust - adjust the size of the text.
  • Table of contents - scan and jump to a section of interest.
  • Action bar - download, share, and more with the updated action bar.

Global searching enables you to search the IEEE Xplore database for one or more keywords in any field. Use advanced searching if you want to do a full-text search; limit your search to certain fields; limit your search by publisher, content type, topic, or year; or combine keywords using operators (AND, OR, NOT).

Use the global search box at the top of IEEE Xplore to begin your search.

  1. Enter one or more keywords in the Global Search box. IEEE Xplore has a type-ahead feature that suggests keywords and phrases using values from the document title, publication title, topic, and index terms fields. Type-ahead is initiated after three characters are entered. If you see the search query you want, select it in the pop-up box.
    Search Box
    Note: Three characters must be entered for the type-ahead feature to activate.
  2. Click Search.
    IEEE Xplore looks for matches in metadata. (IEEE members and guests may choose to search both full text and metadata through search preferences.) Metadata includes the document title, author(s), publication title, abstract, and index terms. IEEE Xplore then displays a list of results matching your keyword(s).
  3. Select the number of titles listed on the page using the Results per page drop-down, and specify how the titles are sorted using the Sort by drop-down.
  4. View multiple pages of results by using the page numbers or First and Last links at the top or bottom of the list of titles.
    Pagination
  5. View the abstract of an article on the search results page by clicking .
  6. Display the abstract page by clicking the document title or the ... View more link.
  7. For articles in publications to which you subscribe, view full text by clicking PDF.

The subscription identifier icon Subscription Identifier Icon indicates articles where you have access to full text.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter