Skip to main content

All Databases

A how-to guide to each of Kettering's databases.

LegalTrac

Using LegalTrac

The ideal resource for students, law school faculty and legal researchers, LegalTrac features a comprehensive collection of major legal publications. This invaluable resource provides indexing for more than 1,500 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 250 titles in full text.

The American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), not only endorses LegalTrac, its special advisory committee selects, reviews and enhances the content for this resource — meaning researchers can benefit from timely, accurate results with every search.

 

To access the search tips provided in the database click on the "select the products you want to search" after you have selected one or more databases.  You will be taken to the "Advanced Search" page where you can click on "Search Tips."

Following links to full-text:

If the full-text of a source is available, the full-text link will appear under the citation. If no full-text link appears, click on "Click here to see if this journal is at Kettering University." The link will take you to the entry for the resource in our online catalog. Then click the link to proceed to the online version.

The information below the citation will also indicate if the PDF version of the article is included in the InfoTrac/LegalTrac database and it will include the number of pages of the PDF source. If there is no full-text or PDF source inside the database, there may be an abstract for the source.

Other Features:

If you are satisfied with some of the results in your search terms, click on a citation and a subject thesaurus will appear in the right-hand column. This will allow further narrowing or broadening of your search, and suggest other terms for a revised search.

If you already know your citation, search the Browse Publications feature to access the journal and then input the citation.

There is also a link called TOOLBOX in the top menu of the database.  The toolbox contains help, a list of resources included in the database and an online Merriam-Webster's dictionary.

Personalized Gale User Account:

You may be able to create a user account in which you can store searches, set up RSS feeds and otherwise create a record of your research work.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter