Skip to main content

All Databases

A how-to guide to each of Kettering's databases.

Engineering Case Studies

Using Engineering Case Studies

The analysis of engineering failures is an essential part of many engineering curricula today. This focus enables modern engineers and scholars to learn what not to do and how to create designs with a greater chance of success. Key to learning is establishing the nature of each failure—structural, corrosive, electrical, etc.—and understanding that element.

The engineering field needs a comprehensive and authoritative resource to provide in-depth, impartial analysis of key engineering failures. Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection that will grow to include 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. Content is displayed alongside targeted learning objects designed to facilitate detailed understanding of the causes and impact of these failures. Materials in the collection include:

• Feature-length video documentaries of major failures.

• Monographs explaining cases in detail and describing key engineering concepts and issues.

• Simulations depicting precisely what went wrong.

• Primary footage of accidents, including related news segments.

• Audio footage and transcripts.

• Testimonies from participants, victims, and witnesses.

• Images, accident reports, blueprints, and other key archival content whenever available.

• Bibliographies of authoritative materials from newspapers, Web sites, and journals.

• Specially written cases that explore engineering ethics.

The collection provides in-depth coverage for more than 50 of the most frequently taught and seminal case studies around the world together. Example cases include:

• Air France flight 4590 • Comet airliners • Space shuttle Challenger
• Apollo 13 • Deepwater Horizon oil rig • Tacoma Narrows bridge
• The Big Dig • Ford Pinto • Titanic
• Boeing 787 Dreamliner • Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant • TWA flight 800
• Chernobyl power plant • Hyatt Regency walkway • Plus many more

All materials in Engineering Case Studies Online are carefully cultivated by expert editors, with the assistance of an advisory board of engineering librarians and faculty. Materials come from a wide range of content partners, including the Digital Rights Group, BBC, Future Media, TVF International, as well as leading academic publishers such as Princeton University Press, John Wiley & Sons, Harvard University Press, and engineering associations such as the American Society of Civil Engineers.

More than 60 percent of video material in the collection was produced since 2000, and new content is added regularly. The database is global in focus, and originates from the United States, the United Kingdom, and Australia, with selections from across Europe and Asia. And because Engineering Case Studies Online addresses cases from a variety of angles, including their legal and ethical implications, the collection has broad applications for fields including architecture, business, law, urban planning, health and safety, environmental studies, science, sociology, media, and technology.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter