Skip to main content

COMM 101 [Arbor] - Oral Presentation & Annotated Bibliography: Citations

A guide to help students in COMM 101 prepare for their presentation.

Citing Your Sources

Citation Managers

What is a Citation Manager? 
A Citation Manager is simply a piece of software, website, or browser extension that can help you organize the papers you have used for research. It keeps track of the citations (so the author, title, date, etc) of each paper, and allows you to then plug each citation into your Reference List. Some of them even allow very specific citations styles for different disciplines (like AIP for physics) instead of the more common APA and MLA styles.

Citeulike is a free service for managing and discovering scholarly references.

EndNote Basic is the free version of the popular reference software. Features storage for up to 50,000 references, the 20 most popular bibliographic styles, and 2GB of file storage.

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research in your field

ReadCube is a free desktop and browser-based program for managing, annotating, and accessing academic research articles. 

RefWorks is web-based bibliographic software that enables you to organize your research, include citations while you write your paper, build a bibliography in a variety of formats, import references from many data sources, and create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.).

Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for.

Highlighted Citation Manager: Zotero

Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for.

Zotero has a Chrome Extension that allows easy addition of web content to your Zotero library.

More info on the button's functionality here.

The Zotero Style Repository allows you to import citation styles that might not be pre-loaded.

Popular citation styles in Physics: 

ZOTERO NEWS:

Loading

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter