Applied BiologyBiochemistryBioinformaticsChemical EngineeringChemistry
Computer EngineeringComputer Science
Chemical EngineeringComputer EngineeringElectrical EngineeringEngineering PhysicsIndustrial EngineeringMechanical Engineering
Applied PhysicsEngineering PhysicsApplied Mathematics
This is the "Applied Physics" page of the "FYE - Kettering Majors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Ruff! Kettering Libguides Homepage Questions? Library Homepage Kettering Homepage

An introduction to the major disciplines at Kettering University for new students.
Last Updated: Oct 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.kettering.edu/fye-majors Print Guide RSS Updates

Applied Physics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Physics Books in the Library

Books on physics are in the QC call number range. They're in the middle of the stacks on the north end of the library (keep walking straight as you enter), starting at stack 135.

physics books

Physics books in the library's stacks

Physics ebooks available 24/7

Physics Journals

These are just a few of the physics journals Kettering has access to through subscription.

 

Applied Physics Thesis

The Bachelor of Science in Physics culminates in a thesis. The library has a Digital Thesis Archive, accessible on-campus only, with a searchable listing of all theses written since 2003. Example titles of Applied Physics theses:

  • Implementation of Transreflective Films for Automotive Lighting Applications

  • Simulation and Modeling of Annealing Twin Microstructures

When students are ready, the Center for Culminating Undergraduate Experiences (CCUE) assists them with thesis preparation.

 

Welcome to Applied Physics

The Department of Physics is located on the 2nd floor of the Academic Building.
The KU Physics Facebook page.

Meet the Physics faculty.

 

Inspiration

From TED: Brian Cox on CERN's Supercollider—and here are more physics talks.

Applied Physics Databases

  • American Chemical Society Publications  
      
    Full text. Comprehensive collection of journals in the chemical and related sciences.
  • Applied Optics  
      
    Full text. Peer-reviewed scientific journal of the Optical Society of America.
  • arXiv  
      
    Full text. An archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance.
  • ASME Digital Collection (Am. Society of Mechanical Engineers)  
      
    Full text. A collection of materials from ASME including their 23 Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present, ASME Press ebooks, and citation-only Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
  • CRCnetBASE [Chemical Rubber Company]  
      
    Mostly full text. Access the latest ebooks and handbooks in all areas of engineering & the sciences. Be sure to check the box “Full Access Content Only” at the top to limit to full-text results.
  • Engineering Village—Compendex  
      
    Citations and abstracts only (no full-text) from 5,000 journals and conference proceedings in all engineering fields dating back to 1969. Most comprehensive overall engineering database.
  • IEEE Xplore  
      
    Full-text from 1998 to the present. A resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
  • IOPscience (Institute of Physics)  
      
    Full text. Search interface for access to over 60 peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences.
  • Knovel Science + Engineering Collection  
      
    Full-text reference volumes of tabular data of interest to chemists, physicists & engineers.
  • Web of Science
    Citations only with article linker to full text within Kettering’s subscribed content. Access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, with complete cited reference searching and citation mapping.
 

Physics News

From the American Institute of Physics:

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Your Librarian is ...

Profile Image
Jamie Niehof
Contact Info
Digital Technology Librarian
Kettering University
810-762-7815
jniehof@kettering.edu
Send Email

Google Scholar Search

Did you know you can use Google Scholar to search Kettering databases for articles and journals?

Full-Text @ Kettering

After logging into Google, just go to Settings > Library Links from the Scholar homepage and type in Kettering University. If we have an article, you'll see the 'Full-Text' link.



Greek & Extracurriculars

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip