KU Online ECE 642: Machine Drives for Electric Vehicles: Plagiarism

BlackBoard SafeAssign

SafeAssign is based on a unique text-matching algorithm capable of detecting exact and inexact matching between a paper and source material. Submissions are compared against several databases:

• Global Reference Database: Contains over 15 million papers volunteered by students from Blackboard client institutions to help prevent cross-institutional plagiarism.
• Institutional document archives: Contains all papers submitted to SafeAssign by users in their respective institutions.
• Internet: SafeAssign searches across the broader internet for matching text using an internal search service.
• ProQuest ABI/Inform Journal Database: More than 3,000 publication titles, 4.5 million documents, and over 200 topical categories from the 1970s to the present and covering topics from Advertising to Women's Studies.

For more information on using SafeAssign in your courses, click here if you're faculty and click here if you're a student.

Grammarly

Grammarly also offers a plagiarism checker here. Grammarly's online plagiarism checker compares your text to over 16 billion web pages and academic papers stored in ProQuest’s databases. When part of your text matches something written online or in a database, you’ll get a plagiarism alert.

The KU library provides a Grammarly account for all students, faculty, and staff using your Kettering.edu email address. For more information on how to activate your Grammarly account, click here. 

This video will tell you what is plagiarism, the consequences of plagiarism, and the 5 types of plagiarism you're most likely to encounter.