LibGuides: Anthropometry: Home

> Check Out Our New Online Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
An unsurpassed guide for researchers in any discipline to the meaning, history, and usage of over 500,000 words and phrases across the English-speaking world.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Quick Links

US Patent + Trademark Office Resources

Google Patent Search

What is Anthropometry?

Published on May 15, 2012 by opendesignlab - This video details the role of anthropometry, or body dimensions, in designing for human variability. It's part of a series on the fundamentals of designing for human variability.

Anthropometry - Books, Databases & Links

Encyclopedia Britannica - Anthropometry
Anthropometric data have been used by industrial researchers in the design of clothing, especially military uniforms, and in the engineering of, for example, automobile seats, airplane cockpits, and space capsules.
New World Encyclopedia - Anthropometry
Anthropometry is the measurement of physical attributes of human beings, such as head width, length of little finger, length of torso, etc. The technique was originally designed for the purpose of studying the variation of human physical characteristics, and was quickly adapted to create an early identification system.
Oxford Living Dictionaries - Anthropometry
The scientific study of the measurements and proportions of the human body.
Wikipedia - Anthropometry
Anthropometry (from Greek ἄνθρωπος anthropos, "human", and μέτρον metron, "measure") refers to the measurement of the human individual.

Vital Health and Statistics: Anthropometric Reference Data for Children and Adults: United States, 2011–2014
Anthropometry or human body measurements provide important indicators of nutritional status in children and adults (1). In children, measurements reflect general health
status, dietary adequacy, and growth and
development over time. In adults, body measurements are used to evaluate health and dietary status, disease risk, and body composition. This report presents anthropometric reference data for 2011–2014 for U.S. children and adults.
Mean Body Weight, Height, and Body Mass Index, United States 1960–2002
This report presents trends in national estimates of mean weight, height, and body mass index (BMI) from the National Health Examination and the National Health and Nutrition Examination Surveys between 1960 and 2002. The tables included in this report present data for adults by sex, race/ethnicity, and age group and for children by sex and year of age. Mean weight and BMI have increased for both sexes, all race/ethnic groups, and all ages. Among adults, mean weight increased more than 24 pounds. Although not as dramatically, mean height has also increased for most ages and for both males and females.
CDC: Clinical Growth Charts
The clinical growth charts reflect modifications in the format of the individual charts, whereby two individual charts appear on a single page, and data entry tables have been added. The clinical charts have the grids scaled to metric units (kg, cm), with English units (lb, in) as the secondary scale. Clinical charts are available for boys and for girls
Anthropometric Downloads - Matthew P. Reed - University of Michigan
This page lists information from a variety of sources that I (Matthew P. Reed) have found to be useful. Some of the information is available elsewhere but may be difficult to obtain. This information is either in the public domain or copyrighted by me or the University of Michigan, as far as I know.
Anthropometric & Ergonomic Resources
Information is compiled by Humanics Ergonomics Inc.
Anthropometric Reference Data for Children and Adults: United States, 2007–2010
This report presents national anthropometric reference data for all ages of the U.S. population in 2007–2010, adding to results published previously from the years 1960–2006.
Anthropometry & Biomechanics
Presents information about human body size, posture, movement, surface area, volume, and mass.
NHANES - Questionnaires, Datasets, and Related Documentation
The National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. NHANES is a major program of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). NCHS is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and has the responsibility for producing vital and health statistics for the Nation.
Science.gov
Searches dozens of government agencies many of which include anthropometric data.
Anthropometric source book. Volume 1: Anthropometry for designers
All the basic areas of anthropometry and its applications to the design of clothing, equipment, and workspaces for manned space flight are presented.

ASTM Compass Standards This link opens in a new window
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Contains full text and the most current, up to date standards.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
International standards for scientists and engineers.

ASTM Libguide: Learn more about using ASTM.

ASTM FAQs: Answers to commonly asked questions regarding ASTM standards.

Book + Journal QuickSearch @ KU

Occupational Ergonomics by Theresa Stack; Lee T. Ostrom; Cheryl A. Wilhelmsen
Call Number: T 59.7 .S725 2016
ISBN: 9781118814215
Publication Date: 2016
The approach to the book is analogous to a toolkit. The user will open the book and locate the tool that best fits the ergonomic assessment task he/she is performing.
Measurement and Evaluation in Human Performance by James G. Disch; Dale Mood; Minsoo Kang; James R. Morrow
Call Number: QP 301 .M3755 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Focusing on the core concepts of reliability and validity of data, the text provides all the necessary tools for evidence-based decision making that can be applied to physical therapy, allied health professions, kinesiology, sport and exercise science, physical education, health, and fitness.
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics by Gavriel Salvendy
Call Number: TA 166 .H275 2012
ISBN: 9780470528389
Publication Date: 2012
The fourth edition of the Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomicshas been completely revised and updated.This includes all existing third edition chapters plus new chapters written to cover new areas.
Handbook of Human Factors in Medical Device Design by Matthew Bret Weinger (Editor); Michael E. Wiklund (Editor); Daryle Jean Gardner-Bonneau (Editor)
Call Number: R 856 .H38 2011
ISBN: 9780805856279
Publication Date: 2010
Developed to promote the design of safe, effective, and usable medical devices, Handbook of Human Factors in Medical Device Design provides a single convenient source of authoritative information to support evidence-based design and evaluation of medical device user interfaces using rigorous human factors engineering principles.
Occupational Ergonomics : Theory and Applications by Amit Bhattacharya (Editor); James D. McGlothlin (Editor)
Call Number: TA 166 .O26 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The book covers the fundamentals of ergonomics and the practical application of those fundamentals in solving ergonomic problems. The scope is such that it can be used as a reference for graduate students in the health sciences, engineering, technology and business as well as professional practitioners of these disciplines.
Bodyspace : Anthropometry, Ergonomics, and the Design of Work by Christine M. Haslegrave
Call Number: TA 166 .P49 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This third edition maintains the same content and structure as previous editions, but updates the material and references to reflect recent developments in the field. The book has been substantially revised to include new research and anthropometric surveys, the latest techniques, and changes in legislation that have taken place in recent years.

Book + Journal QuickSearch @ KU

Man-Machine-Environment System Engineering by Shengzhao Long (Editor); Balbir S. Dhillon (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9789811569784
Publication Date: 2019
These proceedings showcase the best papers selected from more than 500 submissions, and introduce readers to the hottest research topics and the latest developmental trends in the theory and application of MMESE.
Anthropometry, Apparel Sizing and Design by Norsaadah Zakaria (Editor); Deepti Gupta (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780081026052
Publication Date: 2019
Anthropometry, Apparel Sizing and Design, Second Edition, reviews techniques in anthropometry, sizing system developments, and their applications to clothing design. The book addresses the need for the improved characterization of population size, weights and the shapes of consumers.
Occupational Ergonomics by Theresa Stack; Lee T. Ostrom; Cheryl A. Wilhelmsen
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781118814291
Publication Date: 2016
The approach to the book is analogous to a toolkit. The user will open the book and locate the tool that best fits the ergonomic assessment task he/she is performing. The chapters of the book progress from the concept of ergonomics, through the various assessment techniques, and into the more complex techniques.
Digital Human Modeling. Applications in Health, Safety, Ergonomics, and Risk Management: Ergonomics and Design by Vincent G. Duffy (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9783319584621
Publication Date: 2017
The two-volume set LNCS 10286 + 10287 constitutes the refereed proceedings of the 8th International Conference on Digital Human Modeling and Applications in Health, Safety, Ergonomics, and Risk Management, DHM 2017, held as part of HCI International 2017 in Vancouver, BC, Canada. HCII 2017 received a total of 4340 submissions, of which 1228 papers were accepted for publication after a careful reviewing process. The 75 papers presented in these volumes were organized in topical sections as follows: Part I: anthropometry, ergonomics, design and comfort; human body and motion modelling; smart human-centered service system design; and human-robot interaction. Part II: clinical and health information systems; health and aging; health data analytics and visualization; and design for safety.
Proceedings of the 20th Congress of the International Ergonomics Association (IEA 2018) by Sebastiano Bagnara (Editor); Riccardo Tartaglia (Editor); Sara Albolino (Editor); Thomas Alexander (Editor); Fujita Yushi (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9783319960708
Publication Date: 2018
This book presents the proceedings of the 20th Congress of the International Ergonomics Association (IEA 2018), held on August 26-30, 2018, in Florence, Italy.
Human Body by Karen L. LaBat; Karen S. Ryan
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780429055690
Publication Date: 2019-02-18
Association of American Publishers (AAP) Finalist for the 2020 PROSE Award Association of American Publishers (AAP) Subject Category Winner for the 2020 PROSE Award 2019 Taylor & Francis Award Winner for Outstanding Professional Book! Human Body: A Wearable Product Designer's Guide, unlike other anatomy books, is divided into sections pertinent to wearable product designers. Two introductory chapters include many definitions, an introduction to anatomical terminology, and brief discussions of the body's systems, setting the stage for the remaining chapters. The book is extensively referenced and has a large glossary with both anatomical and design terms making it maximally useful for interdisciplinary collaborative work. The book includes 200 original illustrations and many product examples to demonstrate relationships between wearable product components and anatomy. Exercises introduce useful anatomical, physiological, and biomechanical concepts and include design challenges. Features Includes body region chapters on head and neck, upper torso and arms, lower torso and legs, the mid-torso, hands, feet, and a chapter on the body as a whole Contains short sections on growth and development, pregnancy, and aging as well as sections on posture, gait, and designing total body garments Describes important regional muscles and their actions as well as joint range of motion (ROM) definitions and data with applications to designing motion into wearable products Presents appendices correlating to each body region's anatomy with instructions for landmarking and measuring the body, a valuable resource for a lifetime of designing
Biomechanics of Cycling by Rodrigo R. Bini (Editor); Felipe P. Carpes (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
One goal of this book is to meet the growing need for a comprehensive presentation of contemporary knowledge on biomechanics of cycling which will positively influence the activity of cycling in a global fashion. In order to accomplish this purpose, ten chapters are presented with focus on varying methods for biomechanical analysis of cycling motion. The introduction section provides an overview of the main methods for assessment of cycling motion, including motion analysis, pedal force measurements, muscle activation, anthropometry and joint kinetics.

Database Page

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Access Engineering is an award-winning engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. Access Engineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work. Includes access to Perry's Chemical Engineering Handbook, Shaum's Outlines, and curriculum maps.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
ACM Digital Library [Assoc. for Computing Machinery] This link opens in a new window
Contains every article published by ACM in two distinct collections: The ACM Guide to Computing Literature, which contains citations/abstracts only, and The ACM Full-Text Collection, which is full text. We also have access to the the ACM Collection I and Collection II eBook packages. The library offers free publishing through a transformative agreement with this database.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Computer Science, Information Technology
ASME Digital Collection [Am. Society of Mechanical Engineers] This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes full access to over 200 new and classic ASME ebooks.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
ASTM Compass Standards This link opens in a new window
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Contains full text and the most current, up to date standards.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
International standards for scientists and engineers.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Mostly full text, a major business resource which includes access to market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and Harvard Business Review. Also included are thousands of relevant videos.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Engineering Village—Compendex This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts only (no full-text) from 5,000 journals and conference proceedings in all engineering fields. Most comprehensive overall engineering database.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
[1969 to present] Subjects: nuclear technology, transportation, civil engineering, materials engineering, aerospace engineering, bioengineering, chemical and process engineering control, mechanical engineering, petroleum engineering, automotive engineering
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Note: In Settings > Library Links there is the ability to add “Kettering University” so if we have the full text you’ll be able to click through to our holdings.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar Button extension available in Chrome browser. Scholar Droid app on android.
IEEE Xplore [Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers] This link opens in a new window
Mostly full text. A resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. To limit to full text: Advanced Search > Content Filter > My Subscribed Content.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Engineering, Aerospace, Communication, Networking, Broadcasting, Circuits, Computing & Processing, Robotics, Transportation, Photonics & Electro-optics, Electromagnets
[1998 to present]
Knovel Science + Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
We subscribe to the following collections:
Electrical & Power Engineering
Industrial Engineering & Operations Management
ProQuest Central & SciTech This link opens in a new window
A broad array of business, humanities, and science & technology information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market-focused trade news. ABI/INFORM features the latest news from top sources like the Wall Street Journal and Financial Times and is widely recommended as an excellent source for all business disciplines and courses.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Full-text Technical papers from 1998-present from the Society of Automotive Engineers as well as Ground Vehicle Standards. Indexing of all SAE publications back to 1996 (full text for the 2021 journals) and STAPP Car Crash Conference papers 1966 to the present. SAE Mobilus technical papers are peer reviewed.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Able to limit to full-text. ScienceDirect is the leading database for journal articles and eBooks in science, engineering, and medical literature. The subscription contains over 3,700 journals with a large majority being peer-reviewed, nearly a million articles and over 100 electronic books/ series/handbooks.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
To limit results to full text: Click on 'Journals & Books' at the top > Refine your search using left menu > Choose by Access Type: Subscribed & complimentary and/or Open access
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citations only (no full text) with article linker to full text within Kettering’s subscribed content. Access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, with complete cited reference searching and citation mapping.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Sciences—Material, Chemistry, Physics, Neuroscience, Medicine, Engineering, Geosciences, Math, Computers, Energy, Biology, Food Science, Veterinary, Information Science, Management, Astronomy, Psychiatry, Optics

Journal List A-Z This link opens in a new window
A searchable title list of all full text online journals available at Kettering University. Where to search if Kettering subscribes to the full text content of a specific journal, or to browse our full text offerings by journal title.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Book + Journal QuickSearch @ KU

Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation
AAMI is the primary source of consensus standards, both national and international, for the medical device industry, as well as practical information, support, and guidance for healthcare technology and sterilization professionals.
Chartered Institute of Ergonomics & Human Factors
In a nutshell, the Chartered Institute of Ergonomics & Human Factors (CIEHF) is a UK-based professional body with over 1700 members. CIEHF members are practitioners, students and researchers working or studying in ergonomics and human factors or a related field. The CIEHF raises awareness of the discipline, sets and maintains professional standards, supports its members, and promotes networking and communication among those who have an interest in ergonomics, human factors and related fields.
Human Factor & Ergonomics Society
The Society's mission is to promote the discovery and exchange of knowledge concerning the characteristics of human beings that are applicable to the design of systems and devices of all kinds.
International Ergonomics Association
The mission of the IEA is to elaborate and advance ergonomics science and practice, and to expand its scope of application and contribution to society to improve the quality of life, working closely with its constituent societies and related international organizations.
Rehabilitation Engineering & Assistive Technology Society of North America
Organization focused on assistive technology and rehabilitation engineering. Publishes proceedings from its annual RESNA conference as well as technical standards.
University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute
UMTRI has a long history of conducting anthropometric studies of children and adults, with a particular focus in recent years on documenting anthropometry and positioning of drivers and passengers within the automotive environment.
User Experience Professionals Association
UXPA is a growing international organization with 50 chapters around the world, and members in 60 countries. UXPA members come from many different backgrounds, sharing the common interest of creating products that meet the needs of the people who work or play with them.
The International Society for the Advancement of Kinanthropometry (ISAK)
The International Society for the Advancement of Kinanthropometry (ISAK) was founded as an organisation of individuals whose scientific and professional endeavour is related to kinanthropometry. ISAK's purpose is to create and maintain an international network of colleagues who represent the world community transcending geography, politics and the bounds of separate disciplines in order to establish a dynamic area of scientific endeavour.

Anthropometry & Ergonomics Podcasts

IISE Problem Solved Podcast: Conversations with industrial and systems engineers about their work, ideas and solutions. This podcast will feature both IISE members and non-members who come from diverse backgrounds in both academia and industry to discuss a wide range of topics as it relates to their work as well as some off-beat topics that we think you, our audience, will find fascinating.

The Business of Ergonomics Podcast: How do I get started doing in ergonomics? How do I find paying clients? What type of services should I be delivering? These are just some of the big questions that Board Certified Professional Ergonomist, Darcie Jaremey digs into with the Business of Ergonomics Podcast.

Contact The Library

IN PERSON

Librarians and specialists are available in-person at our knowledge bar service desks on the third floor of the Learning Commons. Please visit this page for hours.

VIRTUAL SERVICES:

WEBSITE

The Library website is open 24/7 at: https://my.kettering.edu/page/library

CHAT

To chat KU Librarians, please see browser sidebar on the library website, libguides or searcheverything

EMAIL

Library 'General Inquiries': library@kettering.edu
You may also email the specialized area directly:
- Materials On Demand (MOD): mod@kettering.edu
- Research: libresearchhelp@kettering.edu
- Access: l ibaccesshelp@kettering.edu
- Archives/Special Collections: archives@kettering.edu

TEXT

KU Library available for texting services at 810-255-9009
KU Archives available for texting services at 810-255-0022

PHONE

For general inquiries and research assistance, please call the Librarians at 810-762-9598
For information regarding materials (books/articles), your library account or reserves, please call Access Staff at 810-762-7814
For historical questions, please call the Archivist at 810-762-9690

Anthropometry: Home