Language Learning Resources: Home

A Frequency Dictionary of Koreanis an invaluable tool for all learners of Korean, providing a list of the 5000 most frequently used words in the language.

This Korean picture dictionary covers the 1,500 most useful Korean words and phrases. This illustrated dictionary presents the 1,500 Korean words and sentences that students need to know to pass the TOPIK.

This Mandarin picture dictionary covers the 1000 most useful Mandarin Chinese words and sentences. Each word and sentence is given in Chinese characters with Hanyu Pinyin pronunciation and English definition.

Routledge English Language Introductions cover core areas of language study and are one-stop resources for students. Assuming no prior knowledge, books in the series offer an accessible overview of the subject, with activities, study questions, sample analyses, commentaries and key readings - all in the same volume.

Get the last word on English grammar Grasping the intricacies of the English language doesn't need to be tricky, and this down-to-earth guide breaks everything down in ways that make sense--Revealing rules, tips, and tricks to eliminate confusion and gain clarity,

Improve your English grammar You have nothing to lose and everything to gain by using proper English language and grammar.

English Phonetics and Pronunciation Practice provides a unique introduction to basic articulatory phonetics for students of English.

English Pronunciation for Speakers of Spanish fills a gaping hole in the market for books on English phonetics and pronunciation because it not only combines theoretical issues and applications to practice, but it also adopts a contrastive English-Spanish approach to better suit the needs of Spanish-speaking learners of English (SSLE), enabling them to build gradually on the knowledge gained in each chapter.

This book explores the topics of English accents and pronunciation. It highlights their connections with several important issues in the study of English in the world, including intelligibility, identity, and globalization. The unifying strand is provided by English pronunciation models: what do these models consist of, and why? The focus on pronunciation teaching is combined with sociolinguistic perspectives on global English, and the wider question asked by the book is: what does it mean to teach English pronunciation in a globalized world? The book takes Hong Kong - 'Asia's World City' - as a case study of how global and local influences interact, and of how decisions about teaching need to reflect this interaction. It critically examines existing approaches to global English, such as World Englishes and English as a Lingua Franca, and considers their contributions as well as their limitations in the Hong Kong context. A data-based approach with quantitative and qualitative data anchors the discussion and assists in the development of criteria for the contents of pronunciation models. English Pronunciation Models in a Globalized World: Accent, Acceptability and Hong Kong English discusses, among other issues: Global English: A socio-linguistic toolkit   Accents and Communication: Intelligibility in global English   Teaching English Pronunciation: The models debate   Somewhere Between: Accent and pronunciation in Hong Kong Researchers and practitioners of English studies and applied linguistics will find this book an insightful resource.

The Routledge Dictionary of Pronunciation for Current English is the most up-to-date record of the pronunciation of British and American English.

The Routledge Handbook of Contemporary English Pronunciation provides a comprehensive survey of this field covering both theoretical and practical perspectives on pronunciation.

Preparing for TOEFLDo you plan to take TOEFL or IELTS but are not ready for the challenge? Do you need more practice? If you do, then this book is for you.

Learn how to maximize scoring by rhetorically analyzing all reading, listening, speaking and writing tasks.