MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. MathSciNet® contains over 3.6 million items and over 2.3 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s.
Case Studies in Disaster Response and Emergency Management by Nicolas A. Valcik; Paul E. TracyDesigned to enable practitioners and students to evaluate a variety of real-life emergencies from every angle, this new edition of Case Studies in Disaster Response and Emergency Management provides clear, thorough, step-by-step descriptions of more than 50 major disasters or emergencies. Arranged chronologically, the case studies involve incidents from around the globe, with topics including natural disasters, industrial accidents, epidemics, and terrorist attacks. A series of questions throughout each case study encourages the reader to think critically about the problem at hand, to select a course of action, and to then see the results of the decisions that were made.¿ This hands-on approach invites practitioners and students to apply learned theoretical emergency management techniques in a safe test environment. Case Studies in Disaster Response and Emergency Management, 2e provides readers with the most modern and current case studies in disaster response and emergency management and can be used in group project settings, as individual homework assignments in training courses for first responders, law enforcement, and government employees, or to complement existing emergency management textbooks in Public Administration, Public Management, and Public Affairs programs.¿
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017
The I-35W Bridge Collapse by Kimberly J. Brown2019 Minnesota Book Award Finalist in Memoir & Creative Nonfiction "A bridge shouldn't just fall down," Senator Amy Klobuchar said after the August 1, 2007, collapse of the Minneapolis I-35W eight-lane steel truss bridge, which killed 13 motorists, injured 145, and left a collective wound on the city's psyche and infrastructure. On her way to a soccer game with a fellow teammate, Kimberly J. Brown experienced the collapse firsthand, falling 114 feet in her teammate's car to the Mississippi River. Although terrified, injured, and in shock, she survived. In this sobering memoir and exposé, Brown recounts her harrowing experience. In the aftermath of the disaster, Brown became both an advocate for survivors and an unofficial whistle-blower about decaying infrastructure. She details her investigation and correspondence with Thornton Tomasetti engineers, including the false official account of the collapse and the eventual revelation of its real causes. In addition, she chronicles the ongoing decay of America's bridges and the continuing challenges faced by leaders to address infrastructure problems across the country. After nearly a decade of research into the collapse and her active and ongoing recovery from psychic and physical injuries, Brown shares her experience and answers the questions we should all be asking: Why did this bridge collapse? And what could have been done to prevent this tragedy?
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2018
The City, the River, the Bridge by Patrick Nunnally (Editor); Roberto Ballarini (Contribution by); Minmao Liao (Contribution by); Thomas Fisher (Contribution by); Judith A. Martin (Contribution by); Roger Miller (Contribution by); John O. Anfinson (Contribution by); Mark Pedelty (Contribution by)On August 1, 2007, just after 6:00 p.m., during the evening rush hour in Minneapolis, the 1,900-foot-long, eight-lane I-35W bridge buckled and crashed into the Mississippi River. The unimaginable had happened right on the doorstep of the University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus. Many of the first responders were from the University, persevering in the midst of chaos and disbelief. In the ensuing weeks, research and engineering teams from the University reviewed the wreckage, searched for causes, and began planning for the future. The City, the River, the Bridge represents another set of responses to the disaster. Stemming from a 2008 University of Minnesota symposium on the bridge collapse and the building of a new bridge, it addresses the ramifications of the disaster from the perspectives of history, engineering, architecture, water science, community-based journalism, and geography. Contributors examine the factors that led to the collapse, the lessons learned from the disaster and the response, the policy and planning changes that have occurred or are likely to occur, and the impact on the city and the Mississippi River. The City, the River, the Bridge demonstrates the University's commitment to issues that concern the community and shares insights on public questions of city building, infrastructure, and design policy. Contributors: John O. Anfinson; Roberto Ballarini; Heather Dorsey; Thomas Fisher; Minmao Liao; Judith A. Martin; Roger Miller; Mark Pedelty; Deborah L. Swackhamer; Melissa Thompson.
Call Number: HN 80 .M6 C57 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Collapsed by Garrett EblingOn August 1, 2007, the Interstate 35W Bridge in Minneapolis collapsed beneath more than 140 commuters into the Mississippi River in a cloud of dust, smoke, and flame during the evening rush hour. Thirteen died. When his car took a hundred-foot nosedive, former journalist Garrett Ebling was left with brain trauma, many broken bones, and a shattered face. Though he made a miraculous physical recovery, his relationships and emotional stability disintegrated. He clung to hope, and slowly but surely, he pulled himself back from the brink of despair, and discovered a new spirit: the spirit of a fighter. Ebling tells the story that has been missing from the investigations and the political debates the story of the survivors. Beyond the media clips, we learn firsthand of their triumphs and setbacks, from their hellish moments trapped underwater in cars and their PTSD flashbacks, to the long, slow march back from fear and pain to joy and life.