AVON includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, training videos, and demonstrations. This collection is home to over 79,000 videos, with thousands of award-winning films, including the 60 Minutes collection.
Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Creating a persistent link:
Click on your video of choice. From here, click the red "share" icon:
From here, you will be given persistent link options for permalinks, embedding, and integration as an LTI. Simply copy and paste the link of your choice:
Avon (Academic Video Online) is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video database that supports the entire curriculum. It delivers over 79,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, science, and more. Included are documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs (including the 60 Minutes collection), training videos, and demonstrations. You will also find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners. Videos on the AVON platform are licensed to be streamed in the classroom with no additional permissions required. Additionally, you can create a free account to enable the ability to edit clips from the videos if you prefer to share only a specific portion of the video with your class.
New interactivity features have been added (Spring 2023) to a collection of AVON videos. Faculty can now embed pedagogical tools throughout the videos, including discussion prompts, multiple-choice, and free-form questions, polling, and more. Please click the "Faculty Interactivity Tool" tab above.
Films available in Academic Video Online (AVON) database include permission for classroom showings, as well as public screenings, as long as no admission is being charged.
From the AVON homepage, there are quite a few features that can help you find the video content that you want. 
The search box is on the top right of the page, with filtering near the center (see the red funnel icon).
The options for filtering are extensive and include subject, publisher, person, content type, langue, and release date. See the image below.
If you would like to edit clips to show for your classes, you will need to create a free account. Click the person icon at the top right of the page, then click "Sign up" near the middle of the page.
Once you create a unique username and password, you will be able to access the "clip" feature to make and share customized clips with your classes. After locating the video you want to edit, press play. When the video plays, you are able to access a bottom menu where an icon of scissors is displayed on the right side. Click the icon to be taken to the editing tool.
If you would like to access either the 60 Minutes collection or the Engineering Case Studies Online collection, you can click the menu at the top left.
After clicking the menu button, you will click "Collections" from the drop-down menu, then select the which of the collections you would like to access.
Spark Student Engagement, Understanding and Collaboration with Video Interaction Functionality
Faculty are continually searching for effective ways to engage students in their courses. Video has long been a key resource for engagement, both in and out of the classroom, and the library is eager to support this growing educational need and further integrate multimedia content into the learning experience.
That’s Where Video Interaction Functionality Can Help
AVON’s new learning tool - video interaction functionality - connects library content to the classroom and enhances student engagement for faculty. Now you can leverage video for collaboration, reflection, and assessment of student knowledge and retention of course lessons and concepts.
Faculty can now embed pedagogical tools throughout videos, including discussion prompts, multiple-choice and free-form questions, polling, and more. When these tools are activated, students cannot move forward in the video without first answering the question(s) on screen.
To see this tool in action, visit the video here.
Explore, or search, the full list of interactive videos on AVON here.
All tutorials are courtesy of Proquest and Alexander Street.