Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Getting Started With Library Research: Summarizing Research Articles & Annotated Bibliographies

A how-to guide to covering research and library offerings.

Writing An Article Summary

APA 7th Edition Book

TIPS for Reading & Summarizing Research Articles with Professor Josiah Fehlauer

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually 150-200 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

Source: https://guides.library.cornell.edu › annotatedbibliography

Why write an annotated bibliography?

Writing an annotated bibliography can help you gain a good perspective on what is being said about your topic. By reading and responding to a variety of sources on a topic, you'll start to see what the issues are, what people are arguing about, and you'll then be able to develop your own point of view.

Source: Purdue OWL

Annotated Bibliography - Example

Rules for the Annotated Bibliography

  • The complete citation comes first followed by the analysis or summary (see example)
  • The beginning of each citation entry uses a hanging indent, flush left
  • After the first line of each citation, the rest of the entry is indented 1" from the left
  • Generally summary/analysis should be about 150-200 words but follow your instructor's guidelines
  • Summary/analysis does require in-text citation

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter