LibGuides: KU Online ECE 632: Automotive Control Systems: Citations

Purdue OWL, Helpful Resources + Research Books

Academic Citation Resource Guide
This guide includes links from various universities and websites to help you in understanding most citation styles.
Academic Success Center (ASC)
The Academic Success Center provides holistic academic support to all Kettering students to help them become successful independent learners and achieve their educational and professional goals.
Located on the 3rd floor of the Academic Building.
Explorable
How to write an outline for a research paper.
Purdue OWL
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue.

The Elements of Library Research by Mary W. George
Call Number: Z 710 .G44 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This short, practical book introduces students to the important components of the information-seeking process. The Elements of Library Research provides a foundation for success in any research assignment, from a freshman paper to a senior thesis.
Google Search Secrets by Christa Burns
Call Number: ZA 4234 G64 B87 2014
Publication Date: 2013
Google services and features are constantly evolving, and this guide introduces how web results are presented; how search filters can narrow your results; and how the Alerts service works.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019
STEM Student Research Handbook by Darci Harland
Call Number: Q 180 .A1 H37 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This resource for high school science teachers outlines the various stages of large-scale science research, enabling you to coach your students through any assignment.
The Student's Survival Guide to Research by Monty McAdoo
Call Number: ZA 3075 M43 2015
Publication Date: 2015
A guidebook for beginning researchers, this work introduces the search tools, strategies, methods, and key terms that students will need to know as they enter the world of research.

Citation Managers

What is a Citation Manager?
A Citation Manager is simply a piece of software, website, or browser extension that can help you organize the papers you have used for research. It keeps track of the citations (so the author, title, date, etc) of each paper, and allows you to then plug each citation into your Reference List. Some of them even allow very specific citations styles for different disciplines (like AIP for physics) instead of the more common APA and MLA styles.

Citationsy is a no-nonsense reference collection and bibliography creation tool for people who value simplicity, privacy, and speed.

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research in your field

ReadCube is a low-cost desktop and browser-based program for managing, annotating, and accessing academic research articles

RefWorks is web-based bibliographic software that enables you to organize your research, include citations while you write your paper, build a bibliography in a variety of formats, import references from many data sources, and create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.).

Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for.

Definitions

CITATIONS

The in-text reference that gives brief details (author, date, page) of the source you are quoting or referring to. This citation corresponds with the full details of the work (title, publisher, etc) given in your reference list or bibliography, so that the reader can identify and/or find the source.

REFERENCE LIST

A list of references at the end of your paper that includes the full information for your citations so that the reader can easily identify and retrieve each work (journal articles, books, webpages, etc). Your reference list contains all the items you have cited or directly quoted from.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

A list of works you have consulted for your paper, but not cited in the Reference List. Works should be listed in alphabetical order by author and laid out in the same way as items in your reference list. If you can cite from every work you consulted, you will only need a reference list.

Always check the guidance you are given for your research paper to find out if you are expected to submit work with a reference list and a bibliography.