Skip to main content

CS 300: The Computing Professional: Finding Articles

A LibGuide to assist students in CS 300 with their history and ethics research projects.

Library Quick Search

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Browse eBook Collections

Journal List A-Z    Browse Journals

Kettering University Library attempts to have a copy of each textbook for student classes in our Course Reserve collection. Browse here or ask at the Circulation Desk for your textbook. 

Course Reserves only check out for four hours and may not leave the library.

Loading ...

Article Searching Using Library Quick Search

The library quick search box is a fast, easy way to search for articles. Simply input your topic into the box and click "find".

Once you receive your results, you can narrow the results given to "journal articles", and select other options such as "scholarly & peer review" and "full text online".


To search for a certain article, simply input the title of the article you are looking for into the search box and click "find". 

You can also search for journals using the library quick search box. Simply click the "journals" tab. You can find a list of top computing journals in the bottom right box of this page.

To search using specific databases, please see the list below of databases the library subscribes to.

 

Computer Databases

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library App for Android, iOS and Windows is now available (and free)

As an ACM DL user at Kettering University:

  1. Sign-in or Sign-up to the ACM DL with your ACM Web Account now.
  2. Install the ACM DL app onto your device, (see below).
  3. Sign in to the ACM DL app with your ACM Web Account.

DONE—You now have access to the ACM DL on your mobile device.

Google Scholar Search

LINKING KETTERING + GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Did you know you can use Google Scholar to search Kettering databases for articles and journals? It should automatically work if you are logged into Google with your Kettering email address. 

If it's not working, after logging in, just go to Settings > Library Links from the Google Scholar homepage and type in Kettering University. Tick the check box and click Save. If we have an article, you'll see the 'Full-Text @ Kettering' link in your Google Scholar search results.

google scholar icon

Full-Text @ Kettering

Google Scholar also has an extension for the Chrome Browser worth checking out.

Request An Article

If you can't find an article inside Kettering's databases, you can request one through our InterLibrary Loan service. 

This service is free for students and faculty with a turn around time of one to seven days, depending on availability of the material.

 Article Request Form

Top Computer Journals

Kettering subscribes to all the highest cited journals in Computer Science as determined by Journal Citation Reports and GoogleScholar Metrics. Those journals are listed below and are a good place to start your research.

Your 14-digit student ID number is used for authentication from outside Kettering's network. 

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter