LibGuides: CS 300: The Computing Professional: Home

> Check Out Our Latest Offering Called Comics Plus!

Comics Plus This link opens in a new window
Comics Plus is a digital platform offering unlimited and simultaneous use of thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga using a smartphone, tablet, or web browser. You must create an account to access the database.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Quick Links

Course Textbooks

EBOOK: Ethics and Technology: Controversies, Questions, and Strategies for Ethical Computing, 5th Edition by Herman T. Tavani
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781119186595
Publication Date: 2016
Offering thought--provoking insights and up--to--date coverage of the rapidly expanding field of cyberethics, this new book introduces readers to current issues in computer ethics.
PRINT: Ethics and Technology: Controversies, Questions, and Strategies for Ethical Computing, 5th Edition by Herman T. Tavani
Call Number: TK 5105.5 .T385 2016
ISBN: 9781119239758
Publication Date: 2016
Computer: A History of the Information Machine by Martin Campbell-Kelly
Publication Date: 2014
A physical copy of this book is on reserve in the Library for the CS 300 class. Inquire at the Circulation Desk.
A Science of Operations: Machines, Logic and the Invention of Programming by Kewal Jain
Publication Date: 2011
The Library has an electronic copy of this book available. To access, follow the link above and you will be prompted to type in your 14-digit library card number if you are trying to access the ebook from off campus. The number is located below the barcode on your student identification card.

CS 300: The Computing Professional

CS 300: The Computing Professional —An examination of the profession of computing from historical and ethical perspectives. Overview of the history of computing, from the earliest computational devices and theoretical foundations to modern developments. Discussion of the social impact of computing on society and the ethical implications for computing professionals, including analysis of case studies.

History of Computing News - Google News

Computer Ethics News - Google News

Electronic Resources Librarian

S.E. Pavlica

they/them

Email Me

Contact:

Library - 3rd & 4th Floor of the Learning Commons

(810) 762-7818

Subjects: All Databases, Library Resources, Research

Contact The Library

IN PERSON

Librarians and specialists are available in-person at our knowledge bar service desks on the third floor of the Learning Commons. Please visit this page for hours.

VIRTUAL SERVICES:

WEBSITE

The Library website is open 24/7 at: https://my.kettering.edu/page/library

CHAT

To chat KU Librarians, please see browser sidebar on the library website, libguides or searcheverything

EMAIL

Library 'General Inquiries': library@kettering.edu
You may also email the specialized area directly:
- Materials On Demand (MOD): mod@kettering.edu
- Research: libresearchhelp@kettering.edu
- Access: l ibaccesshelp@kettering.edu
- Archives/Special Collections: archives@kettering.edu

TEXT

KU Library available for texting services at 810-255-9009
KU Archives available for texting services at 810-255-0022

PHONE

For general inquiries and research assistance, please call the Librarians at 810-762-9598
For information regarding materials (books/articles), your library account or reserves, please call Access Staff at 810-762-7814
For historical questions, please call the Archivist at 810-762-9690