LibGuides: PHYS 354: Medical Physics Principles: Home

> Check Out Our Latest Offering Called Comics Plus!

Comics Plus This link opens in a new window
Comics Plus is a digital platform offering unlimited and simultaneous use of thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga using a smartphone, tablet, or web browser. You must create an account to access the database.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Featured Resources

Introduction to Physics in Modern Medicine by Suzanne Amador Kane; Boris A. Gelman
ISBN: 9781138742635
Publication Date: 2020-03-03
From x-rays to lasers to magnetic resonance imaging, developments in basic physics research have been transformed into medical technologies for imaging, surgery, and therapy at an ever-accelerating pace. Physics has joined with genetics and molecular biology to define much of what is modern in modern medicine and allied health.

Advances in Medical Physics and Healthcare Engineering by Moumita Mukherjee (Editor); J. K. Mandal (Editor); Siddhartha Bhattacharyya (Editor); Christian Huck (Editor); Satarupa Biswas (Editor)
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9789813369146
Publication Date: 2021-06-17
This book presents research advances in the theory of medical physics and its application in various sectors of biomedical engineering. The theme of the book is interdisciplinary in nature; it interests students, researchers and faculty members from biomedical engineering, biotechnology, medical physics, life sciences, material science and also from electrical, electronics and mechanical engineering backgrounds nurturing applications in biomedical domain.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions. Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research. Coverage on a wide range of topics. Includes peer-reviewed full text resources for STEM research, social sciences and the humanities. Also includes over 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Medical Physics
Publishes original, high-impact physics, imaging science, and engineering research that advances patient diagnosis and therapy through contributions in 1) Basic science developments with high potential for clinical translation 2) Clinical applications of cutting-edge engineering and physics innovations 3) Broadly applicable and innovative clinical physics developments. Some articles are Open Access.

Medical Physics Web News

Welcome to Medical Physics Principles

This course is designed to give physicists, engineers, chemists, pre-med students, and other technical majors an introduction to the application of physics in the field of medicine. Students will be introduced to the fundamental science and real-world application of diagnostic imaging, nuclear medicine, radiation therapy, and health physics. This course will cover topics such as radiation interactions with matter, the concept of radiation dose, the effect of radiation on biology, 2D x-ray imaging, computed tomography (CT) imaging, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound, biomedical optics, single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), positron emission tomography (PET), and the treatment of cancer utilizing radiation therapy.

Topics of Research

Monte Carlo modeling of photon transport in biological tissue
Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT)
Diffuse optical tomography
Photoacoustic tomography
Ultrasound-modulated optical tomography
Biomedical spectroscopy
Endoscopic microscopy
Optical elastography
Neurophotonics
Medical laser technology
Ultra-fast optics in biomedicine
High-Intensity Focused Ultrasound (HIFU)
Ultrasound-mediated drug delivery
3D ultrasound imaging
Quantitative Ultrasound (QUS)
Image Artifacts
Elastography
Technologies for digital imaging
X-ray CT in treatment planning
Quantitative imaging
Multi-energy CT
Multi-detector CT
CT image reconstruction
Fluoroscopy
Cone-beam CT
Safety + Calibration method
Radiotherapy
X-ray contrast agents

Podcasts of Interest

Out of the Gray - Standard Imaging
A look at the world of Radiation Oncology through the eyes of those on the front lines of cancer care. Interviews with the best minds in the field to discuss new ideas, research and the future of Radiation Oncology Technology. Join us as we chat with members of Medical Physics, Medical Dosimetry, Radiation Therapy, Radiation Oncology Industry, Physics Professors, Educational Program Directors and more!
The Physics Podcast: Radiology Jam
The aim of The Physics Podcast by Radiology Jam is to cut through the jargon and ask those questions you wish you had! We are starting with the hardest topic first, the one that candidates find most challenging... MRI! To save us from the MRI spiral of doom is Medical Physicist Extraordinaire Joely Smith.

Contact The Library

IN PERSON

Librarians and specialists are available in-person at our knowledge bar service desks on the third floor of the Learning Commons. Please visit this page for hours.

VIRTUAL SERVICES:

WEBSITE

The Library website is open 24/7 at: https://my.kettering.edu/page/library

CHAT

To chat KU Librarians, please see browser sidebar on the library website, libguides or searcheverything

EMAIL

Library 'General Inquiries': library@kettering.edu
You may also email the specialized area directly:
- Materials On Demand (MOD): mod@kettering.edu
- Research: libresearchhelp@kettering.edu
- Access: l ibaccesshelp@kettering.edu
- Archives/Special Collections: archives@kettering.edu

TEXT

KU Library available for texting services at 810-255-9009
KU Archives available for texting services at 810-255-0022

PHONE

For general inquiries and research assistance, please call the Librarians at 810-762-9598
For information regarding materials (books/articles), your library account or reserves, please call Access Staff at 810-762-7814
For historical questions, please call the Archivist at 810-762-9690