PHYS 354: Medical Physics Principles: Radiology + Medical Physics

This book provides a unique introduction to the vast field of Medical Imaging Informatics for students and physicians by depicting the basics of the different areas in Radiology Informatics.

Presents and elucidates the basic, almost foolproof steps in their interpretation.

A complete guide to non-invasive imaging techniques in cardiology TodayÂs imaging technologies offer cardiologists more ways than ever to diagnose conditions of the heart without the need of endoscopies and other invasive procedures. Now in its third edition,Cardiac CT, PET and MRI continues to provide an in-depth explanation of these tools and their correct applications, while also exploring cardiac imagingÂs most recent and groundbreaking developments. This wide-ranging guide places CT, PET and MRI in a practical context, illustrating clearly their respective functions as they apply to specific cardiological disorders and clinical situations. With the addition of seven new chapters, it also offers an expanded insight into PET Â- an increasingly popular and affordable diagnostic utility, hitherto underexplored in texts devoted to imaging. Cardiac CT, PET and MRI includes:            Clinically focused examinations of CT, PET and MRI Â- the three most popular non-invasive imaging modalities Illustrative full-color photos and images Access to a companion website featuring additional content  Cardiologists, radiologists, nuclear medicine physicians, physicists, and imaging technologists alike will find the third edition of Cardiac CT, PET and MRI an informative and accessible resource with a direct use in their day-to-day practice.

Provides medical physicists with a comprehensive overview of the field of nuclear medicine.

From x-rays to lasers to magnetic resonance imaging, developments in basic physics research have been transformed into medical technologies for imaging, surgery and therapy at an ever-accelerating pace.

Focuses on applications of micro CT, CBCT, and CT in medicine and engineering, comprehensively explaining the basic principles of these techniques in detail, and describing their increasing use in the imaging field

Offers comprehensive updates on the latest developments in the application of this technique.

This is the first book to explore the epistemology and ethics of advanced imaging tests, in order to improve the critical understanding of the nature of the knowledge they provide and the practical consequences of their utilization in healthcare.

Covers virtually all aspects of image formation in medical imaging, including systems based on ionizing radiation (x-rays, gamma rays) and non-ionizing techniques (ultrasound, optical, thermal, magnetic resonance, and magnetic particle imaging) alike. In addition, it discusses the development and application of computer-aided detection and diagnosis (CAD) systems in medical imaging.

Presents research advances in the theory of medical physics and its application in various sectors of biomedical engineering.

Provides step-by-step instructions of how to build a course/module for Higher Education on Moodle Gives practical solutions to implementing e-Learning in Medical Physics and Engineering Explores useful tips and tricks for best practice

This book summarizes medical imaging techniques and processing procedures, both of which are necessary for creating bone models with finite element methods.

This book illustrates common diseases affecting the human nervous system using different imaging modalities derived from radiology, nuclear medicine, and neuropathology.

This book provides insights into current radiology practices in diagnostic imaging, discussing specific features of individual imaging techniques, such as sensitivity, specificity and accuracy and signal-to-noise ratio.  It includes chapters on various established imaging methods as well as emerging methods such as EPR imaging, and their applications in the diagnosis of skin cancer, brain tumors, oral diseases and kidney cysts. Adopting a bottom-up approach and presenting the recent trends in a simple manner with the help of examples, the book appeals to a wide audience, including academics, researchers, medical and nursing students, as well as healthcare professionals in the field of imaging and radiology.

MicroComputed tomography has become the gold standard for studying 3D microscopic structures non-destructively, and this book provides up-to-date coverage of the modality.

Combines the knowledge of both surgeons and radiologists to propose a mechanism-based approach to imaging in skeletal trauma.