LibGuides: PHYS 354: Medical Physics Principles: Medical Physics Resources

SearchEverything Box - Begin Your Research Here!

The SearchEverything box on our homepage is your gateway to articles, books, journals, and databases, searching over 95% of the library's resources in one location.

Tips for a successful search:

Use AND, OR, and NOT to expand and contract your search results. ex: automation AND Germany.
Use the * symbol to search different forms of a word. ex: engineer* also searches engineers, engineering, etc.
Use filters on the results page, such as "full text online," "peer-reviewed," and "publication date" to narrow results.
Don't copy/paste full citations - remove all punctuation or use the citation search tab at the top of the page.

Backward + Forward Citation Searching

Citation searching, sometimes called cited reference searching, refers to finding articles that have cited a previously published older work (i.e. following research forward). Citation searching can also include looking at the citations within a paper (i.e. the Reference List) to trace research backwards.

The number of times a paper is cited in the work of others can be an indication of its usefulness. Through citation searching, you can discover how a known idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended, or corrected. Citation analysis can also be used to identify emerging areas of research, identify a field's leading researchers and to assess research output.

CREATION MOVES FORWARD IN SCIENTIFIC PUBLICATION

RESEARCH MOVES BACKWARD

The Kettering database Web of Science has a 'Citation Network' box next to each article. This gives a snapshot of how many times the article was cited (forward citation searching) and how many cited references the article contains (backward citation searching.)

The Citation Map below shows a visualization of both backward and forward citation searching. Note that only articles included inside Web of Science are counted.

Standards

ASTM Compass Standards This link opens in a new window
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Contains full text and the most current, up to date standards.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
International standards for scientists and engineers.
IEEE Xplore [Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers] This link opens in a new window
Mostly full text. A resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. To limit to full text: Advanced Search > Content Filter > My Subscribed Content.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Engineering, Aerospace, Communication, Networking, Broadcasting, Circuits, Computing & Processing, Robotics, Transportation, Photonics & Electro-optics, Electromagnets
[1998 to present]
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Full-text Technical papers from 1998-present from the Society of Automotive Engineers as well as Ground Vehicle Standards. Indexing of all SAE publications back to 1996 (full text for the 2021 journals) and STAPP Car Crash Conference papers 1966 to the present. SAE Mobilus technical papers are peer reviewed.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
TechStreet This link opens in a new window
Preferred purchase platform for standards and technical books from many organizations. The Kettering University Library added this resource to increase access to standards that fall outside our current subscriptions to IEEE, ASTM and SAE. Currently, we have subscription access to ISO 26262: 1-12. This resource is IP based (you will need your Kettering login credentials) with unlimited user access. We also have the availability to purchase electronic single-user PDFs of standards. Please email library@kettering.edu for more information.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Databases

ACS In Focus E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
The ACS In Focus e-books help readers of all levels accelerate their fundamental understanding of emerging topics and techniques from across the sciences. In an instructional setting, these works bridge the gap between textbooks and literature. For the seasoned scientist, they satisfy the hunger for continuous growth in knowledge and capability. The library offers free publishing through a transformative agreement with this database.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
Full text. Comprehensive collection of journals in the chemical and related sciences. Includes access to about 40 journals published by the American Chemical Society. [Includes access to ACS Style Guide]

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Biochemistry, Chemistry, Microbiology, Energy, Food & Materials Science, Nanoscience, Pharmacology
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Content derives from leading trade journals, professional and technical society publications, and conference proceedings.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
An open-access, pre-print archive for 1,949,000+ scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects—Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Note: In Settings > Library Links there is the ability to add “Kettering University” so if we have the full text you’ll be able to click through to our holdings.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar Button extension available in Chrome browser. Scholar Droid app on android.
IOPscience [Institute of Physics] This link opens in a new window
Full text. Search interface for access to over 60 peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences, including over 100 ebooks. The library offers free publishing through a transformative agreement with this database.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Physics, Environmental & Earth Science, Fluid Dynamics, Nuclear Fusion, Astrophysics, Quantum Electronics
Journal List A-Z This link opens in a new window
A searchable title list of all full text online journals available at Kettering University. Where to search if Kettering subscribes to the full text content of a specific journal, or to browse our full text offerings by journal title.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
PROLA - Physical Review Online Archive This link opens in a new window
PROLA provides immediate access to the APS journal collection dating back to the first volume of each journal. A subscription to PROLA gives access to all journal content, except for the current year and the preceding three years.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
ProQuest Central & SciTech This link opens in a new window
A broad array of business, humanities, and science & technology information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market-focused trade news. ABI/INFORM features the latest news from top sources like the Wall Street Journal and Financial Times and is widely recommended as an excellent source for all business disciplines and courses.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Able to limit to full-text. ScienceDirect is the leading database for journal articles and eBooks in science, engineering, and medical literature. The subscription contains over 3,700 journals with a large majority being peer-reviewed, nearly a million articles and over 100 electronic books/ series/handbooks.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
To limit results to full text: Click on 'Journals & Books' at the top > Refine your search using left menu > Choose by Access Type: Subscribed & complimentary and/or Open access
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
SPIE Digital Library [Society for Optics + Photonics] This link opens in a new window
Full text. A collection of 12 journal titles on optics and photonics to serve engineers and scientists. Includes presentations, videos, posters, ebooks, journal articles, and conference proceedings, as well as access to thousands of open access materials.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
12 Journal Titles:
Advanced Photonics: 2019-Present
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing (JARS): 2007-Present
Journal of Astronomical Telescopes, Instruments & Systems (JATIS): 2015-Present
Journal of Biomedical Optics (JBO): 1996-Present
Journal of Electronic Imaging (JEI): 1992-Present
Journal of Medical Imaging (JMI): 2014-Present
Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS (JM3): 2002-Present
Journal of Nanophotonics (JNP): 2007-Present
Journal of Photonics for Energy (JPE): 2011-Present
Neurophotonics (NPh): 2014-Present
Optical Engineering (OE): 1962-Present
Proceedings of SPIE: 1963-Present
Springer Journals and eBooks This link opens in a new window
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. Over 100,000 full text eBooks and over 1,900 full text journals.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Statista Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Provides direct access to quantitative data (statistics, forecasts, studies, dossiers and industry reports) on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Includes current infographics and many links to original full text reports.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Business, Finance, Marketing, Media, Politics
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citations only (no full text) with article linker to full text within Kettering’s subscribed content. Access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, with complete cited reference searching and citation mapping.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Sciences—Material, Chemistry, Physics, Neuroscience, Medicine, Engineering, Geosciences, Math, Computers, Energy, Biology, Food Science, Veterinary, Information Science, Management, Astronomy, Psychiatry, Optics

ALL DATABASES