LibGuides: EP 485: Acoustic Testing & Modeling: Home

> Check Out Our Latest Offering Called Comics Plus!

Comics Plus This link opens in a new window
Comics Plus is a digital platform offering unlimited and simultaneous use of thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga using a smartphone, tablet, or web browser. You must create an account to access the database.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Relevant Texts

Engineering Acoustics by Malcolm J. Crocker; Jorge P. Arenas
ISBN: 9781118496428
Publication Date: 2021-01-11
A masterful introduction to the theory of acoustics along with methods for the control of noise and vibration.
Finite Element and Boundary Methods in Structural Acoustics and Vibration by Noureddine Atalla; Franck Sgard
ISBN: 9781466592889
Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Text provides a unique and in-depth presentation of the finite element method (FEM) and the boundary element method (BEM) in structural acoustics and vibrations.
Fundamentals of Acoustics by Lawrence E. Kinsler
Call Number: QC 243 .F86 2000
This widely-used book offers a clear treatment of the fundamental principles underlying the generation, transmission, and reception of acoustic waves and their application to numerous fields.
Fundamentals of Physical Acoustics by David T. Blackstock
Call Number: QC 225.15 .B55 2000
Easy to read and understand, Fundamentals of Physical Acoustics fills a long-standing need for an acoustics text that challenges but does not overpower graduate students in engineering and physics.
The Science and Applications of Acoustics by Daniel Raichel
Call Number: QC 225.15 .R35 2000
Publication Date: 2000
This textbook treats the broad range of modern acoustics from the basics of wave propagation in solids and fluids to applications such as noise control and cancellation, underwater acoustics, music and music synthesis, sonoluminescence, and medical diagnostics with ultrasound.
Vibration, Acoustics and Strain Measurement by C. Sujatha Sujatha
ISBN: 9783031039676
Publication Date: 2023-02-23
This textbook provides a comprehensive description of a variety of vibration and acoustic pickups and exciters, as well as strain gauge transducers.

For a complete list of all Acoustics-related books and ebooks, click here.

Acoustic Testing + Modeling

This course combines testing and measurement in the Acoustics Laboratory, modeling approaches including the finite element method, and exposure to textbook and journal literature to explore basic phenomena in acoustics.

-EP 485 Acoustic Testing + Modeling Syllabus, Ron Kumon, PhD

Tuning Forks

Below, a super slo-mo video of a tuning fork splashing water. Because it's cool. Watch the whole video here.

Featured Acoustics Resources

Acoustics by Leo Leroy Beranek
Call Number: TK 5981 .B47 2012
Acoustics: Sound Fields and Transducers is a thoroughly updated version of Leo Beranek's classic 1954 book that retains and expands on the original's detailed acoustical fundamentals while adding practical formulas and simulation methods.
Understanding Acoustics: An Experimentalist’s View of Sound and Vibration by Steven L. Garrett
ISBN: 9783030447878
Publication Date: 2020
Provides graduate-level treatment of acoustics and vibration, while highlighting fundamental physical principles that can provide independent tests of the validity of numerical solutions, commercial software, and computer simulations. Further, it demonstrates approximation techniques that greatly simplify the mathematics without a substantial decrease in accuracy.

Journal of the Acoustical Society of America
The leading source of theoretical and experimental research results in the broad interdisciplinary subject of sound.
more...less...
1929 - present
Journal of Sound and Vibration
The Journal of Sound and Vibration (JSV) is an independent journal devoted to the prompt publication of original papers, both theoretical and experimental, that communicates new knowledge or reviews on important aspects of sound or vibration.

IOPscience [Institute of Physics] This link opens in a new window
Full text. Search interface for access to over 60 peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences, including over 100 ebooks. The library offers free publishing through a transformative agreement with this subscription.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Physics, Environmental & Earth Science, Fluid Dynamics, Nuclear Fusion, Astrophysics, Quantum Electronics
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Able to limit to full-text. ScienceDirect is the leading database for journal articles and eBooks in science, engineering, and medical literature. The subscription contains over 3,700 journals with a large majority being peer-reviewed, nearly a million articles and over 100 electronic books/ series/handbooks.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
To limit results to full text: Click on 'Journals & Books' at the top > Refine your search using left menu > Choose by Access Type: Subscribed & complimentary and/or Open access

Acoustic Analysis of Used Tuning Forks by Mustafa Yüksel, and Yusuf Kemal Kemaloğlu Ankara Vol. 13, Iss. 2
Publication Date: 2017
On the sound field radiated by a tuning fork by Daniel A. Russell American Journal of Physics 68, 1139
Publication Date: 2000
Vibration and Structural Acoustics Analysis : Current Research and Related Technologies by C.M.A. Vasques and J. Dias Rodrigues © Springer Science+Business Media B.V.
ISBN: 978-94-007-1702-2
Publication Date: 2011

Scientific Writing Guides

These books in the Kettering collection focus on scientific writing. All are available for checkout.

From Research to Manuscript by Michael Jay Katz
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2009
Written in simple, straightforward language, From Research to Manuscript, explains how to understand and summarize a research project. It is a writing guide that goes beyond grammar and style by demonstrating how to pull together the information needed for each section of a polished scientific paper.
A Scientific Approach to Scientific Writing by John Blackwell
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2011
This guide provides a framework, starting from simple statements, for writing papers for submission to peer-reviewed journals. It also describes how to address referees comments, approaches for composing other types of scientific communications, and key linguistic aspects of scientific writing.

Acoustic Testing News

Contact The Library

IN PERSON

Librarians and specialists are available in-person at our knowledge bar service desks on the third floor of the Learning Commons. Please visit this page for hours.

VIRTUAL SERVICES:

WEBSITE

The Library website is open 24/7 at: https://my.kettering.edu/page/library

CHAT

To chat KU Librarians, please see browser sidebar on the library website, libguides or searcheverything

EMAIL

Library 'General Inquiries': library@kettering.edu
You may also email the specialized area directly:
- Materials On Demand (MOD): mod@kettering.edu
- Research: libresearchhelp@kettering.edu
- Access: l ibaccesshelp@kettering.edu
- Archives/Special Collections: archives@kettering.edu

TEXT

KU Library available for texting services at 810-255-9009
KU Archives available for texting services at 810-255-0022

PHONE

For general inquiries and research assistance, please call the Librarians at 810-762-9598
For information regarding materials (books/articles), your library account or reserves, please call Access Staff at 810-762-7814
For historical questions, please call the Archivist at 810-762-9690