LibGuides: Open Access: Where to Publish

Open Access Journals

BioMed Central
BioMed Central Ltd., an independent publisher in London, England, provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
This is a searchable directory of open access journals across all disciplines.
Elsevier's OA Journals
Elsevier publishes many journals and scholarly works in various disciplines. This site provides a list of this publisher's open access journals.
International Association for Media and Communication Research OA journal list
This website lists open access journals in the field of media and communications research.
Knowledge Unlatched
Knowledge Unlatched works with libraries and academic publishers to make selected books openly accessible. The model depends on libraries contributing to cover a publisher's costs on a book; when the cost-recovery goal is met, the book becomes open access. Knowledge Unlatched encourages authors to discuss this option with their publishers. See "How can I get my book published through Knowledge Unlatched?"
MediaCommons Press
An "in-development feature of MediaCommons promoting the digital publication of texts in the field of media studies, ranging from article- to monograph-length.”
MLA Commons
A network linking members of the Modern Language Association. "MLA Commons, in addition to supporting a wide range of informal blogs and discussion groups, offers a robust platform for more formal publications—both member-generated and those initiated by the association." See also "Developing New Book Projects on MLA Commons."
Open Humanities Press
An "international, scholar-led open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought available worldwide." The OHP network includes several openly accessible book series published by MPublishing at the University of Michigan, as well as a selective list of autonomously-produced open access journals in critical and cultural theory.
Open Library of Humanities
A high-profile initiative to establish a non-profit open access publisher for the humanities and social sciences. See this April 2014 CHE interview with Martin Paul Eve, Lecturer in English at the University of Lincoln, UK and co-founder of the Open Library of Humanities.
PeerJ
An off-shoot of PLoS, PeerJ is a new open access journal in the biological and medical sciences. PeerJ operates under a unique publishing fee model, which includes lifetime membership options.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLoS publishes several well-established open access, peer-reviewed journals covering an array of disciplines in the sciences including PLOS Biology, PLOS One, and PLOS Pathogens.
Royal Society Open Science
From the Royal Society publishing groups comes this new open access, peer-reviewed journal publishing across the range of science and mathematics.
SpringerOpen
This is a list of open access journals published by Springer covering numerous disciplines and subject areas.
Taylor & Francis OA Journals
Taylor & Francis publishes many journals and scholarly works in various disciplines. This site provides a list of this publisher's open access journals.
Wiley Open Access
Wiley publishes many journals and scholarly works in various disciplines. This site provides a list of this publisher's open access journals.

Open Access Repositories

Scholars' Mine
Our institutional repository known as Scholars' Mine is open to any faculty, staff , student , group or organization of the Missouri University of Science and Technology. Scholars' Mine captures, stores, indexes, preserves, and distributes digital materials useful educational, scholarly, research or historical purposes.
arXiv.org
Created by Paul Ginsparg at the Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico and launched in 1991, arXiv.org (formerly xxx.lanl.gov) is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers. Areas covered include physics and related disciplines, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computational linguistics, and neuroscience.
BioRxiv
Modeled after ArXiv, the well-known physics pre-print repository, this brand new disciplinary repository operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, is a pre-print archive for the biological sciences. Submissions should be made indirectly via exports from institutional repositories like eCommons.
Cogprints
Cogprints is an open access repository for literature in psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, computer science and numerous other scientific disciplines. Authors can submit preprints or other published works.
OpenDOAR
Directory of Open Access Repositories. This directory provides a searchable database of academic open access repositories. Here you can search either for repositories or for repository content.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a full-text, open access database (to be distinguished from PubMed which is a citation database) administered by the National Library of Medicine. Depending on publishers' policies, authors can submit published articles for inclusion and are required to do so in the case of NIH-funded research.
Social Science Research Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is composed of a number of specialized research networks in the social sciences. Topics covered by networks include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management (including negotiation and marketing). These networks encourage the rapid distribution of research by publishing submitted abstracts and soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world. Journals, publishers, and other cooperating institutions provide working papers for distribution. The SSRN eLibrary consists of an abstract database containing abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection of downloadable full text documents in pdf format.

Open Data Repositories

Scholars' Mine
Our data known as Scholars' Mine is open to any faculty, staff , student , group or organization of the Missouri University of Science and Technology. Scholars' Mine captures, stores, indexes, preserves, and distributes digital materials useful educational, scholarly, research or historical purposes.
re3Data
DataBib and re3data were initiatives aimed at registering data repositoriesis. In 2015, the sites merged into a common service.
Dryad
Dryad is a data-sharing intitive that partners with publishers to host research data underlying scientific and medical publications.
re3data
re3data and DataBib are initiatives aimed at registering data repositoriesis. In 2015, the sites will merge into a common service. More information as it becomes available!

How Can You Make Your Work More Openly Available?

There are several options for making your research more widely available:

Publish in an open access journal.

o The Directory of Open Access Journals offers a list of free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in a broad array of disciplines. Select “For authors” to see the various open access options available.
Consider publishing in an alternative journal; such journals are lower cost and offer publishing models that encourage broad distribution and reuse of content.
Consider starting an alternative or open access journal:
- Open Access Journal Business Guides from the Budapest Initiative.
- Chemistry Central offers a service to researchers to start independent, open access journals.
- Scholars' Mine can now host open access journals
Choose an open access option in a traditional journal that has become “hybrid,” giving the author the option to pay for an individual article to be open access.
Include your work in Missouri S&T's faculty research repository: Scholars' Mine.
Include your work in one of the Discipline-based repositories, e.g.:
- Computer science: Citeseer
- Physics, Math, nonlinear sciences, computer science, quantitative biology: ArXiv
- Economics: RePec
- Psychology, neuroscience, linguistics, and other disciplines as they relate to the study of cognition: Cogprints

Publisher Copyright Policies

What happens to your copyrights when you publish? Every publisher has differing policies regarding self-archiving and your continued use of your published work. This SHERPA/RoMEO database provides a searchable collection of publisher policies--check here first when deciding where to publish. Additional information about copyright is also available in our Library Guide to Copyright.

Open Access

Open Access Journals

Open Access Repositories

Open Data Repositories

How Can You Make Your Work More Openly Available?

Publisher Copyright Policies

Additional Information