LibGuides: News Databases: America's News: Detroit News Collection

America's News: Detroit News Collection

About the Database
Creating Persistent Links

America's News: Detroit News Collection This link opens in a new window
When the Detroit News opened its doors in 1873, the city’s population was rapidly expanding to meet the needs of its manufacturing sector. From those early days through the rise and fall of the auto industry to today’s push toward revival, the Detroit News tracks The Motor City’s rich history in unparalleled detail and breadth. Providing this historical archive as part of the most comprehensive aggregated news resource in the world creates a seamless continuum of coverage from the 19th century to today.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Creating persistent links:

To share a persistent link from America's News: Detroit News Collection, you will need to add Kettering University's proxy to ensure all users both on and off campus can access it.

To do so, first, copy the URL that appears in the search bar for the resource you wish to share, which in this case is:

https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/document-view?p=NewsBank&t=favorite%3ADNBDDDMD%21Detroit%20News%20Collection&sort=YMD_date%3AD&fld-base-0=alltext&maxresults=20&val-base-0=tornado&docref=news/192BF1774F45B2D0

Next, add Kettering University's proxy BEFORE the URL as shown below:

https://kettering.idm.oclc.org/login?url= added to

https://kettering.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/document-view?p=NewsBank&t=favorite%3ADNBDDDMD%21Detroit%20News%20Collection&sort=YMD_date%3AD&fld-base-0=alltext&maxresults=20&val-base-0=tornado&docref=news/192BF1774F45B2D0

Using America's News: Detroit News Collection

Enter your search terms in the white box. Looking for something specific? Try the resources listed at the bottom: Detroit News, Detroit News Blogs, and Detroit News Web Editions.