LibGuides: EP 446: Solid State Physics: Home

> Check Out Our Latest Offering Called Comics Plus!

Comics Plus This link opens in a new window
Comics Plus is a digital platform offering unlimited and simultaneous use of thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga using a smartphone, tablet, or web browser. You must create an account to access the database.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Quick Links

Library Resources

These books in the Kettering collection focus on conducting research and writing. All are available for checkout.

Researching Online by David Dolowitz
Call Number: ZA 4228 .D65 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Available at the Reference desk for checkout.
The Student's Survival Guide to Research by Monty L. McAdoo
Call Number: ZA 3075 .M43 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Library instruction expert McAdoo has penned a primer specifically tailored to novice researchers, offering beginning-to-end guidance for every step of the research process, from planning and preparing to conducting and writing
Guide to Research Projects for Engineering Students by Eng-Choon Leong; Carmel Lee-Hsia Heah; Kenneth Keng Wee Ong
Call Number: TA 160 .L46 2016
Publication Date: 2015
Specifically Designed with Engineering and Technical Science Students in Mind, this book is organized into three sections, broken down into concise chapters that focus on a specific topic and the skills required.
Writing and Publishing a Scientific Research Paper by Subhash Chandra Parija and Vikram Kate
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9789811047206
Publication Date: 2017
This book covers all essential aspects of writing scientific research articles, presenting eighteen carefully selected titles that offer essential, "must-know" content on how to write high-quality articles. The book also addresses other, rarely discussed areas of scientific writing including dealing with rejected manuscripts, the reviewer's perspective as to what they expect in a scientific article, plagiarism, copyright issues, and ethical standards in publishing scientific papers.

Research Topics in Solid State Physics

Carbon nanotubes
Nanowires
Quantum dots
Nanoparticles
Graphene
Thin solid films
Piezoelectricity, piezoelectric materials
Ultrasonic transducers
Phononic crystals
Surface acoustic waves, SAW devices

Photonic crystals
Photoelectric properties of semiconductors
Optoelectronic devices
Organic light-emitting diodes (OLEDs)
Solid-state lasers
CMOS photodetectors
CCD photodetectors
Magnetoresistance
Magnetic oxides
Quantum Hall effect
Nuclear magnetic resonance

Spintronics
High temperature superconductors
Ferroelectricity, ferroelectric materials
Ferromagnetism, ferromagnetic materials
Excitons
Polaritons
Plasmons
Solid-state biophysics
Solid-state radiation detectors

Physics Magazines

To access all the periodicals we have subscriptions to, check out our Journal List A-Z.

Popular Mechanics
Print edition only [1998 - present]
Engineering News-Record (ENR)
2001-present
Nature
2007-Present
Science
1997-present
Popular Science
2002-one year ago
Solid State Technology
1995-2018

Related Research Guides

EP 485: Acoustic Testing & Modeling
by Dawn Winans Last Updated Nov 14, 2024 94 views this year
EP 342: Materials Science
by Dawn Winans Last Updated Nov 19, 2024 1568 views this year
PHYS 354: Medical Physics Principles
by Dawn Winans Last Updated Nov 19, 2024 471 views this year
PHYS 362: Modern Physics + Physics Nobel Winners
by Dawn Winans Last Updated Jun 13, 2024 3005 views this year

Public Services Librarian

Meagan Brown

Email Me

Contact:

Library - 3rd Floor in the Learning Commons

810-762-7939

Subjects: Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Instruction, Library Resources, Natural Science, Physics, Research

Contact The Library

IN PERSON

Librarians and specialists are available in-person at our knowledge bar service desks on the third floor of the Learning Commons. Please visit this page for hours.

VIRTUAL SERVICES:

WEBSITE

The Library website is open 24/7 at: https://my.kettering.edu/page/library

CHAT

To chat KU Librarians, please see browser sidebar on the library website, libguides or searcheverything

EMAIL

Library 'General Inquiries': library@kettering.edu
You may also email the specialized area directly:
- Materials On Demand (MOD): mod@kettering.edu
- Research: libresearchhelp@kettering.edu
- Access: l ibaccesshelp@kettering.edu
- Archives/Special Collections: archives@kettering.edu

TEXT

KU Library available for texting services at 810-255-9009
KU Archives available for texting services at 810-255-0022

PHONE

For general inquiries and research assistance, please call the Librarians at 810-762-9598
For information regarding materials (books/articles), your library account or reserves, please call Access Staff at 810-762-7814
For historical questions, please call the Archivist at 810-762-9690