Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Undergraduate Research Class - Module 3: How to Find Materials

This LibGuide is for the Undergraduate Research Class - Module 3

Steps to Find Materials

Please utilize the following steps to search for materials before placing a request, but we'd be happy to complete the search on your behalf or provide instruction on how to complete. Email mod@kettering.edu if you would like to utilize any of those services. 

1. Start with SearchEverything

Contains 95% of our resources, suggest you utilize the limiters on the side menu after you type in the material name or term i.e. after you hit search and if you're looking for eBook content restrict by content type. SearchEverything just searches materials owned/subscribed by the Kettering University Library. If you don't see your material listed or are having trouble finding it, please utilize step 2.

2. Check GoogleScholar and/or EBSCO databases

If you can't find what you're looking for in step 1 we suggest you search in a couple of other resources:

  • Google Scholar- A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Note: In Settings > Library Links there is the ability to add “Kettering University” so if we have the full text you’ll be able to click through to our holdings.
  • EBSCO Databases- Search all the EBSCO databases (we subscribe to over 50 of them) because sometimes it may have full-text content, which isn't always available in SearchEverythingNote: Select 'All databases' from this page, check the 'Select' at the top and click 'Continue' to search across all of them. 

You can always email mod@kettering.edu with the citation information and we will track it down on your behalf! 

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter