Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kettering University Library - Information: Institutional Resources

Introduction to the Library

GM Opens Historic Durant-Dort Factory One

May 2, 2017


Factory One houses The Kettering University Archives Collection.

Kettering University Academic Catalogs

Kettering University Philanthropy Reports & Kettering Magazine

The Technician: The Student Voice of Kettering University

Kettering University Bulldog Weekly Issues

Kettering University Archives at Factory One

For research assistance contact:
Melanie Bazil - Archivist
archives@kettering.edu | (810)762-9690

The Archives is located off-campus at 303 W. Water St. 

The extensive automotive archive established at Kettering University (formerly General Motors Institute) in 1974 now has a permanent home at Durant-Dort Factory One. The archive was created by the late Richard P. Scharchburg, a KU professor, and members of the GMI Alumni Association.

The archive comprises approximately 100,000 documents, photographs and other artifacts, and traces the early history of the automobile industry and manufacturing in Flint. Its heart is the William Crapo Durant collection donated by his widow, Catherine Durant, more than 40 years ago. 

Housed within a nearly 10,000-square-foot, climate-controlled space on Factory One’s first floor, this new research library is available to the public. It is also open for tours and other outreach programs. There is no fee to use or tour the archives, but reservations are required.

Search our online catalog

Kettering University's Office Of Institutional Research

Office of Institutional Research 

For research assistance contact:
     Mark Woods, Ph.D. - Director
     mwoods@kettering.edu | (810)762-9642
     Located in the Academic Building, 3-101

To make a data request email: reporting@kettering.edu or use the Institutional Research Request form which is located on their website.  Common Data Sets - From 2007 - present, The Common Data Set contains enrollment data, graduation rates, expenses, and much more.

The Office of Institutional Effectiveness does the following:

  • Determines Official Student Enrollment Numbers
  • Analyzes Student Demographic Information
  • Completes Institutional Surveys from External Sources
  • Responds to Internal Data Requests
  • Administers Student and Alumni Surveys
  • Coordinates Student Course Evaluations
  • Creates New Surveys as Needed
  • Performs Data Analyses as Needed
  • Coordinates, Supports, and Encourages Assessment Efforts

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter