LibGuides: EP 342: Materials Science: Materials Science Library Resources

Begin Your Research Here

The Library’s SearchEverything Box which is located at the top of our homepage is the gateway to research! It allows you to search 95% of our resources at one time. Search for books, ebooks, journal articles, and more...

Science Journals & Magazines

Nature
-2007 - present

Journal Search A-Z
A searchable listing of all full text online journals available at Kettering University. Where to search if Kettering subscribes to the full text content of a specific journal, or to browse our full text offerings by journal title.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Standards

American Society for Testing and Materials [ASTM] Compass Standards
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Contains full text and the most current, up to date standards.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
International standards for scientists and engineers.
IEEE Xplore [Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers]
Mostly full text. Access to journals, articles, engineering standards, conference proceedings, and some ebooks published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. To limit to full text: Advanced Search > Content Filter > Subscribed Content.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Engineering, Aerospace, Communication, Networking, Broadcasting, Circuits, Computing & Processing, Robotics, Transportation, Photonics & Electro-optics, Electromagnets
[1998 to present]
SAE Mobilus
Full-text Technical papers from 1998-present from the Society of Automotive Engineers as well as Ground Vehicle Standards. Indexing of all SAE publications back to 1996 (full text for the 2021 journals) and STAPP Car Crash Conference papers 1966 to the present. SAE Mobilus technical papers are peer reviewed.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
TechStreet
This purchasing platform increases access to engineering standards unavailable in our ASTM, IEEE, and SAE subscriptions and currently includes unlimited access to ISO 26262: 1-12. Contact the library for more information (library@kettering.edu). Files may require downloading FileOpen to access.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Materials Science Databases

American Chemical Society [ACS] Publications
Full text. Comprehensive collection of journals in the chemical and related sciences. Includes access to about 40 journals and a selection of ebooks. Now includes access to the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication and In Focus eBook Collection
Publish for free with ACS with the library's transformative agreement.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Covers the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines — from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering with access to 560 full-text peer-reviewed journals.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Agricola
From the National Agricultural Library. Contains citations about all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Many records link out to full-text articles in agricultural journals. 1970-present.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
arXiv
An open-access, pre-print archive for 1,949,000+ scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects—Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
bioRxiv: The Pre-print Server for Biology
Full text. bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Environment Complete
Leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar
Some full text. A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Note: In Settings > Library Links there is the ability to add “Kettering University” so if we have the full text you’ll be able to click through to our holdings.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar Button extension available in Chrome browser. Scholar Droid app on android.
IOPscience [Institute of Physics]
Full text. Search interface for access to over 60 peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences, including over 100 ebooks. The library offers free publishing through a transformative agreement with this subscription.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Physics, Environmental & Earth Science, Fluid Dynamics, Nuclear Fusion, Astrophysics, Quantum Electronics
Journal Search A-Z
A searchable listing of all full text online journals available at Kettering University. Where to search if Kettering subscribes to the full text content of a specific journal, or to browse our full text offerings by journal title.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
PROLA - Physical Review Online Archive
PROLA provides immediate access to the APS journal collection dating back to the first volume of each journal. A subscription to PROLA gives access to all journal content, except for the current year and the preceding three years.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
ScienceDirect
Able to limit to full-text. ScienceDirect is the leading database for journal articles and eBooks in science, engineering, and medical literature. The subscription contains over 3,700 journals with a large majority being peer-reviewed, nearly a million articles and over 100 electronic books/ series/handbooks.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
To limit results to full text: Click on 'Journals & Books' at the top > Refine your search using left menu > Choose by Access Type: Subscribed & complimentary and/or Open access
Science Reference Source
This database provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
SPIE Digital Library [Society for Optics + Photonics]
Full text. A collection of 12 journal titles on optics and photonics to serve engineers and scientists. Includes presentations, videos, posters, ebooks, journal articles, and conference proceedings, as well as access to thousands of open access materials.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
12 Journal Titles:
Advanced Photonics: 2019-Present
Journal of Applied Remote Sensing (JARS): 2007-Present
Journal of Astronomical Telescopes, Instruments & Systems (JATIS): 2015-Present
Journal of Biomedical Optics (JBO): 1996-Present
Journal of Electronic Imaging (JEI): 1992-Present
Journal of Medical Imaging (JMI): 2014-Present
Journal of Micro/Nanolithography, MEMS, and MOEMS (JM3): 2002-Present
Journal of Nanophotonics (JNP): 2007-Present
Journal of Photonics for Energy (JPE): 2011-Present
Neurophotonics (NPh): 2014-Present
Optical Engineering (OE): 1962-Present
Proceedings of SPIE: 1963-Present
Springer Nature Link
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. Over 100,000 full text eBooks and over 1,900 full text journals.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Statista Statistics Portal
Provides direct access to quantitative data (statistics, forecasts, studies, dossiers and industry reports) on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Includes current infographics and many links to original full text reports.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Business, Finance, Marketing, Media, Politics
Web of Science
Citations only (no full text) with article linker to full text within Kettering’s subscribed content. Access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, with complete cited reference searching and citation mapping. Features backward and forward citation searching.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Sciences—Material, Chemistry, Physics, Neuroscience, Medicine, Engineering, Geosciences, Math, Computers, Energy, Biology, Food Science, Veterinary, Information Science, Management, Astronomy, Psychiatry, Optics

All Databases