LibGuides: Faculty Resources: Library Resources

SearchEverything Box - Begin Your Research Here!

The SearchEverything box on our homepage is your gateway to articles, books, journals, and databases, searching over 95% of the library's resources in one location.

Tips for a successful search:

Use AND, OR, and NOT to expand and contract your search results. ex: automation AND Germany.
Use the * symbol to search different forms of a word. ex: engineer* also searches engineers, engineering, etc.
Use filters on the results page, such as "full text online," "peer-reviewed," and "publication date" to narrow results.
Don't copy/paste full citations - remove all punctuation or use the citation search tab at the top of the page.

Book Purchase Suggestion

Is there a specific book that would help with your research? Suggest it here and the librarians will consider it for the library.

We take suggestions for both physical books and ebooks.

Suggest a book

Faculty Resources

SearchEverything/PrimoVE This link opens in a new window
PrimoVE, known as SearchEverything here at Kettering University, is the library's powerful search system that can help you discover and access the library's resources, including citations, journal articles, books and ebooks, conference proceedings, reports, standards, open access collections, and more.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Journal List A-Z This link opens in a new window
A searchable title list of all full text online journals available at Kettering University. Where to search if Kettering subscribes to the full text content of a specific journal, or to browse our full text offerings by journal title.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

SearchEverything/PrimoVE This link opens in a new window
PrimoVE, known as SearchEverything here at Kettering University, is the library's powerful search system that can help you discover and access the library's resources, including citations, journal articles, books and ebooks, conference proceedings, reports, standards, open access collections, and more.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Kettering University subscribes to standards in the following databases:

ASTM Compass Standards This link opens in a new window
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Contains full text and the most current, up to date standards.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
International standards for scientists and engineers.
FMVSS - Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards This link opens in a new window
NHTSA issues Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) to implement laws from Congress. These regulations allow us to fulfill our mission to prevent and reduce vehicle crashes. This government database covers a wide array of vehicle safety standards and is searchable by topic or standard number.
IEEE Xplore [Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers] This link opens in a new window
Mostly full text. A resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. To limit to full text: Advanced Search > Content Filter > My Subscribed Content.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Engineering, Aerospace, Communication, Networking, Broadcasting, Circuits, Computing & Processing, Robotics, Transportation, Photonics & Electro-optics, Electromagnets
[1998 to present]
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Full-text Technical papers from 1998-present from the Society of Automotive Engineers as well as Ground Vehicle Standards. Indexing of all SAE publications back to 1996 (full text for the 2021 journals) and STAPP Car Crash Conference papers 1966 to the present. SAE Mobilus technical papers are peer reviewed.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

ISO 26262 - Road Vehicles - Functional Safety - Parts 1-12

If you find an industry standard for your project on Google or by using the search platforms listed below, we will try to acquire it for you. Email requests to: library@kettering.edu

Kettering University Thesis Collections

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Database - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.

EndNote Site License This link opens in a new window
Kettering University Library has a Campus-Side Site License for EndNote 21. Please visit this page for more information on how to download: https://my.kettering.edu/page/endnote

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Grammarly Premium This link opens in a new window
Grammarly Premium is a subscription offered by Kettering University Library for students, faculty, and staff. Grammarly Premium offers over 400 types of checks and features, checks for grammatical errors, provides vocabulary enhancement suggestions, detects plagiarism, and provides citation suggestions. Grammarly also has an integrated AI tool, GrammarlyGO.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, offers thousands of courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the LinkedIn Learning Online Courses video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Personal account creation is required. Real-life situations and actual conversations are used to learn a new language. You’ll learn grammar, phrases and their use in practical situations. Learning through foreign films now included. App available for iOS + android.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Language Learning, English as a Second Language

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, offers thousands of courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the LinkedIn Learning Online Courses video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

CASE STUDIES

Are included in our following subscriptions:

Harvard Business Review Case Studies

The HBR case studies fall outside of our subscription to the Harvard Business Review. If you need a HBR case study for your entire class, you can create a course pack through their website. Here are some links to follow:

Create a HBR Educator Access Account
Steps on creating a course pack
YouTube on creating a course pack
All case studies

AVON - Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
AVON includes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs, training videos, and demonstrations. This collection is home to over 79,000 videos, with thousands of award-winning films, including the 60 Minutes collection.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

AVON - Faculty can do the following:

Create Playlists
Embed into Blackboard
Snip Specific Clips

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, offers thousands of courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the LinkedIn Learning Online Courses video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

LinkedIn Learning - Start in your Blackboard course shell at Content> Build Content> LinkedIn Learning, and the new Blackboard LTI includes the following improvements:

Ease in adding LinkedIn Learning content into your Blackboard course shells
Improved searching and filtering for content
Direct course linking
Ability to track student progress

Digital Commons This link opens in a new window
Digital Commons at Kettering University is an institutional repository designed to store, showcase and share works created by members of the Kettering University community. Developed by the Kettering University Library, Digital Commons provides the university with a platform for publishing and accessing content produced by faculty, students, and staff. Members of Kettering's academic community are encouraged to contribute their scholarship to Digital Commons.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Faculty Research Profiles

Faculty Resources: Library Resources

SearchEverything Box - Begin Your Research Here!

Book Purchase Suggestion

Faculty Resources

KU Library Tutorial Videos