LibGuides: Chemistry 247 + 347 + 348: Finding Chemical Properties

Kettering Databases

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
Full text. Comprehensive collection of journals in the chemical and related sciences. Includes access to about 40 journals published by the American Chemical Society. [Includes access to ACS Style Guide]

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Biochemistry, Chemistry, Microbiology, Energy, Food & Materials Science, Nanoscience, Pharmacology
Knovel Science + Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
We subscribe to the following collections:
Electrical & Power Engineering
Industrial Engineering & Operations Management

Searching for a Compound

There are many ways you can describe a compound in order to search for it within a database. Consider your options and what types of descriptions the particular database will accept. If you get zero results, try another way before moving on to another resource.

Chemical name/synonyms
Common/trivial name
Molecular formula
Empirical formula
Structure
CAS Registry Number

For example, consider ethanol:

ethanol
ethyl alcohol
ethyl hydroxide
C2H6O
H3C-CH2-OH
CAS# 64-17-15

Information is from Purdue University's Chemistry Lab Resources Guide

Online Resources

Both Wikipedia and Wolfram Alpha can be quick and easy to seach when it come to chemical and physical properties. But before you use these resources, please consider the following when searching each source.

Wikipedia: WikiProject Chemicals
This WikiProject is meant to standardize information about chemicals found on Wikipedia and to improve the quality of the information available. A compounds rating indicates how reliable the information is. For example, for the over 8000 compounds found in Wikipedia, nearly 2500 are unassessed, meaning the information cannot be verified. Common compounds may have reliable info, but it is best to verify the data found with another source listed above, especially for more uncommon substance. Also note that currently (Sept 2010) only 17 compounds meet the highest level of quality by Wikipedia standards! Make sure the databox for your compound has a green check, meaning the data has been validated. Also note that many of the Wikipedia articles cite the suggested resources listed above, so why not start with them in the first place?
Wolfram Alpha

WA contains a wide variety of data on many chemical compounds. However, WA's major flaw is that it DOES NOT tell you the specific source of the data presented. WA claims to have a proprietary database of data gathered from various sources. While these sources are often listed, you can not be certain where a particular boiling point or heat capacity came from. When you need to cite an exact source or justify your data from a reliable & credible source, try one of the other resource above instead

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Database of critically-evaluated physical property data from collections maintained by the National Institute of Standards (NIST) Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. [Allows structure searching.]
Sigma-Aldrich Chem Product Central
Sales information, but also basic property data (including, often, various spectra) and key references to other important data resources, including the Beilstein Handbuch. Search in the top right. [Allows structure searching.]

Information is from Purdue University's Chemistry Lab Resources Guide