LibGuides: Chemistry 247 + 347 + 348: How to Use ACS + Citations

American Chemical Society Publications

American Chemical Society [ACS] Publications
Full text. Comprehensive collection of journals in the chemical and related sciences. Includes access to about 40 journals and a selection of ebooks. Now includes access to the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication and In Focus eBook Collection
Publish for free with ACS with the library's transformative agreement.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

American Chemical Society Style of Citation

The ACS Style Guide by Lorrin R. Garson (Editor); Anne M. Coghill (Editor)
Call Number: QD 8.5 .A25 2006
ISBN: 9780841239999
Publication Date: 2006-07-20
This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission ofmanuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STMauthor, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.

Using the American Chemical Society Publications

ACS Publications stands alongside Chemical Abstracts Services in supporting the American Chemical Society's goal to be the most authoritative, comprehensive, and indispensable provider of chemistry-related information, in keeping with the ACS's Vision of Improving People's Lives Through the Transforming Power of Chemistry.

American Chemical Society is a full-text database of the publications of the society. It covers all aspects of chemistry and related areas.

This video is presented by the American Chemical Society and shows the basics in navigating and conducting searches in the ACS database.

ACS Style Guide Citations

In Text

In ACS publications, you may cite references in text in three ways:

1. By superscript numbers, which appear outside the punctuation if the citation applies to a whole sentence or clause.

2. By italic numbers in parentheses on the line of text and inside the punctuation.

3. By author name and year of publication in parentheses inside the punctuation (known as author–date).

Reference List

A reference must include certain minimum data:

• Periodical references must include the author names, abbreviated journal title, year of publication, volume number (if any), and initial page of cited article (the complete span is better).

• Book references must include the author or editor names, book title, publisher, city of publication, and year of publication.

• For material other than books and journals, sufficient information must be provided so that the source can be identified and located.

In lists, references always end with a period

Doss, J., Solla, L., & Bérard, P. (2006). References. In The ACS Style Guide (pgs 287-341). DOI:10.1021/bk-2006-STYG.ch014