LibGuides: AIM &amp; LITES Library Information: Home

Check Out Our Newest Database: PolicyMap!

PolicyMap
PolicyMap provides timely and reliable detailed demographic information from the U.S. Census Bureau and 150 other authoritative sources through highly customizable maps, tables, and reports from national down to neighborhood levels.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Contact The Library

IN PERSON

Librarians and specialists are available in-person at our knowledge bar service desks on the third floor of the Learning Commons. Please visit this page for hours.

VIRTUAL SERVICES:

WEBSITE

The Library website is open 24/7 at: https://my.kettering.edu/page/library

CHAT

To chat KU Librarians, please see browser sidebar on the library website, libguides or searcheverything

EMAIL

Library 'General Inquiries': library@kettering.edu
You may also email the specialized area directly:

Materials On Demand (MOD): mod@kettering.edu
Research: libresearchhelp@kettering.edu
Access: l ibaccesshelp@kettering.edu
Archives/Special Collections: archives@kettering.edu

TEXT

KU Library available for texting services at 810-255-9009
KU Archives available for texting services at 810-255-0022

PHONE

For general inquiries and research assistance, please call the Librarians at 810-762-9598
For information regarding materials (books/articles), your library account or reserves, please call Access Staff at 810-762-7814
For historical questions, please call the Archivist at 810-762-9690

Welcome & Please feel free to reach out to us for assistance

-Librarians: library@kettering.edu | 810-762-9598

-Access / Renewing Materials: libaccesshelp@kettering.edu | 810-762-7814

-Chat with a librarian at: https://my.kettering.edu/page/library

-Text the library at: 810-255-9009

*Check out the Getting Started with Library Research Guide!

SearchEverything Box - Start Your Research Here!

SearchEverything Box
Search our books, ebooks, articles, journals, more...!

Search Tips:

Use boolean operators in all caps (AND, OR, and NOT) to connect search terms
Refine your search results even further on the left by peer-review, type or date

Select Databases

All Databases

AccessEngineering
Award-winning engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to the world's best collection of authoritative, updated engineering reference information. Includes dynamic online features, such as videos, data visualization, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as access to Perry's Chemical Engineering Handbook and Schaum's Outlines.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
American Chemical Society [ACS] Publications
Full text. Comprehensive collection of journals in the chemical and related sciences. Includes access to about 40 journals and a selection of ebooks. Now includes access to the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication and In Focus eBook Collection
Publish for free with ACS with the library's transformative agreement.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers [ASME] Digital Collection
Coverage includes full access to over 200 new and classic ASME ebooks.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
American Society for Testing and Materials [ASTM] Compass Standards
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Contains full text and the most current, up to date standards.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
International standards for scientists and engineers.
Engineering Case Studies
Engineering Case Studies provides in-depth coverage, both text and videos, on engineering failures from around the world.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
IEEE Xplore [Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers]
Mostly full text. Access to journals, articles, engineering standards, conference proceedings, and some ebooks published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. To limit to full text: Advanced Search > Content Filter > Subscribed Content.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Engineering, Aerospace, Communication, Networking, Broadcasting, Circuits, Computing & Processing, Robotics, Transportation, Photonics & Electro-optics, Electromagnets
[1998 to present]
IOPscience [Institute of Physics]
Full text. Search interface for access to over 60 peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences, including over 100 ebooks. The library offers free publishing through a transformative agreement with this subscription.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Physics, Environmental & Earth Science, Fluid Dynamics, Nuclear Fusion, Astrophysics, Quantum Electronics
Knovel Science + Engineering Collection
Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
We subscribe to the following collections:
Electrical & Power Engineering
Industrial Engineering & Operations Management
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, offers thousands of courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the LinkedIn Learning Online Courses video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Mango Languages
Personal account creation is required. Real-life situations and actual conversations are used to learn a new language. You’ll learn grammar, phrases and their use in practical situations. Learning through foreign films now included. App available for iOS + android.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Language Learning, English as a Second Language
SAE Mobilus
Full-text Technical papers from 1998-present from the Society of Automotive Engineers as well as Ground Vehicle Standards. Indexing of all SAE publications back to 1996 (full text for the 2021 journals) and STAPP Car Crash Conference papers 1966 to the present. SAE Mobilus technical papers are peer reviewed.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
ScienceDirect
Able to limit to full-text. ScienceDirect is the leading database for journal articles and eBooks in science, engineering, and medical literature. The subscription contains over 3,700 journals with a large majority being peer-reviewed, nearly a million articles and over 100 electronic books/ series/handbooks.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
To limit results to full text: Click on 'Journals & Books' at the top > Refine your search using left menu > Choose by Access Type: Subscribed & complimentary and/or Open access
Web of Science
Citations only (no full text) with article linker to full text within Kettering’s subscribed content. Access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, with complete cited reference searching and citation mapping. Features backward and forward citation searching.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Sciences—Material, Chemistry, Physics, Neuroscience, Medicine, Engineering, Geosciences, Math, Computers, Energy, Biology, Food Science, Veterinary, Information Science, Management, Astronomy, Psychiatry, Optics