Skip to Main Content

KU Online MGMT 620: Business Communication and Presentation: KU Library Resources

A resource guide to connect Kettering University Online students in MGMT 620 to research resources provided by the library.

SearchEverything Box - Begin Your Research Here!

The SearchEverything box on our homepage is your gateway to articles, books, journals, and databases, searching over 95% of the library's resources in one location.

Tips for a successful search:

  • Use AND, OR, and NOT to expand and contract your search results. ex: automation AND Germany.
  • Use the * symbol to search different forms of a word. ex: engineer* also searches engineers, engineering, etc.
  • Use filters on the results page, such as "full text online," "peer-reviewed," and "publication date" to narrow results.
  • Don't copy/paste full citations - remove all punctuation or use the citation search tab at the top of the page.

Kettering University Special Collections & Publications

For research assistance or an appointment contact:

Melanie Bazil - Curator of Special Collections
archives@kettering.edu | (810)762-9690

The University Archives is located in the Durant-Dort Factory One building, at 303 W. Water Street near downtown Flint. It's just a twenty minute walk along the Flint River Trail. The Archives document America’s industrial and business heritage with particular focus on the American automobile industry, the city of Flint, and the history of Kettering University.

The William C. Durant Papers, are one of the most significant collections in the Archives documenting the early history of General Motors. The Archives also contain a significant collection of General Motors automotive design artwork. The digital photo collection now exceeds 100,000 images. A partial online catalog along with digitized photos can be found below.

Search our online catalog

 

For assistance contact:

Melanie Bazil - Curator of Special Collections
archives@kettering.edu | (810)762-9690

The Gallery is located on campus in the Learning Commons building.

The Humanities Art Center Collection includes artworks that were donated to Kettering University and contains a permanent collection of 19th and 20th-century work, highlighting artists such as Rockwell Kent, Joan Miro, Victor Vasarely, and Anni Albers. Exhibitions are held regularly in the gallery at the Kettering University Learning Commons.

Browse our Digital Gallery

Office of Institutional Research 

For institutional data requests, please email reporting@kettering.edu.

The Office of Institutional Effectiveness does the following:

  • Determines Official Student Enrollment Numbers
  • Analyzes Student Demographic Information
  • Completes Institutional Surveys from External Sources
  • Responds to Internal Data Requests
  • Administers Student and Alumni Surveys
  • Coordinates Student Course Evaluations
  • Creates New Surveys as Needed
  • Performs Data Analyses as Needed
  • Coordinates, Supports, and Encourages Assessment Efforts

Links:

Documents:

Management Resources

Kettering University subscribes to standards in the following databases:

If you find an industry standard for your project on Google or by using the search engines listed below, we will try to acquire it for you.  Email requests to: library@kettering.edu

Kettering University Thesis Collections

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Database - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.

CASE STUDIES

Are included in our following subscriptions:

Harvard Business Review Case Studies

The HBR case studies fall outside of our subscription to the Harvard Business Review.  If you need a HBR case study for your entire class, you can create a course pack through their website.  Here are some links to follow:

AVON - Faculty can do the following:

  • Create Playlists

  • Embed into Blackboard

  • Snip Specific Clips

LinkedIn Learning - Start in your Blackboard course shell at Content> Build Content> LinkedIn Learning, and the new Blackboard LTI includes the following improvements:

  • Ease in adding LinkedIn Learning content into your Blackboard course shells

  • Improved searching and filtering for content

  • Direct course linking

  • Ability to track student progress

KU Library Tutorial Videos

Materials on Demand

In support of the research and scholarship of Kettering University, the Materials on Demand (MoD) service borrows materials (journal articles, print books, eBook chapters, etc.) not owned by Kettering. We participate in a number of resource-sharing agreements and other reciprocal relationships that connect us with resources around the world. This is a service of the Kettering University Library. 

There are four convenient ways to submit a request for materials:

  1. Fill out an online request form
  2. Email mod@kettering.edu directly with requesting information
  3. In-person, please check library hours
  4. Call 810-762-7814

Eligibility/Cost

Currently enrolled students, faculty and staff are eligible to utilize the Materials on Demand (MoD) service. The library assumes all costs associated with MoD. 

Turnaround Time

The average turn-around time for physical materials is 7-10 days and copies are 2-4 days. Article requests are quicker with turnaround times from same day to up to 4 days as they're delivered electronically. Although, these requests are all pending the response time from the lending library.

Checkouts/Renewals

Most lending periods are 4-6 weeks with 1-2 renewals available. Renewals are allowed at the discretion of the lending library. Please contact Materials of Demand (MoD) to inquire about material renewals. 

Pick-up/Return

All physical materials must be picked up from our Luxer Smart Locker system, which is located outside of room 2-202 in the AB during normal building hours. Articles are delivered electronically and come through a secured email. You will receive an email on how to retrieve when either item is available.

You may return materials in the library return slot/drop-box, which is located in the hall, directly across from Room 2205, to the left of the library doors. This is also accessible during AB building hours. 

Amount of Requests

There is currently no limit on the amount of requests, but we ask that you please be realistic with the amount of materials you request at one time. 

Overdue/Damaged/Lost Materials

After 30 days past the due date you may be subject to restricted library privileges. Failure to return material or returning the material damaged may result in replacement fees. The fee amount will be set by the lending library. 

WARNING CONCERNING COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS. 

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 US Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purpose in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. Kettering University reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve a violation of copyright law. This regulation complies with 108(g)(2)(CCG).

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter