LibGuides: Library Resources Guide For Kettering University Online: Leadership Resources

SearchEverything Box - Begin Your Research Here!

The SearchEverything box on our homepage is your gateway to articles, books, journals, and databases, searching over 95% of the library's resources in one location.

Tips for a successful search:

Use AND, OR, and NOT to expand and contract your search results. ex: automation AND Germany.
Use the * symbol to search different forms of a word. ex: engineer* also searches engineers, engineering, etc.
Use filters on the results page, such as "full text online," "peer-reviewed," and "publication date" to narrow results.
Don't copy/paste full citations - remove all punctuation or use the citation search tab at the top of the page.

Leadership Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics, and trends that align with Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies, and more. Features reliable, credible information from 14,000 international, national, and local news sources. Coverage from the 1980s to the present.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Mostly full text, a major business resource that includes access to business news, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and Harvard Business Review. Also included are thousands of relevant videos.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a newspaper and website that presents news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and student affairs professionals.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Digital Commons This link opens in a new window
Digital Commons at Kettering University is an institutional repository designed to store, showcase and share works created by members of the Kettering University community. Developed by the Kettering University Library, Digital Commons provides the university with a platform for publishing and accessing content produced by faculty, students, and staff. Members of Kettering's academic community are encouraged to contribute their scholarship to Digital Commons.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Resource for business students and researchers. It provides insights on entrepreneurship and small businesses topics. Offers full text business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies, and company profiles. Now includes thousands of related videos.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Flint Journal Collection / Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search more than 100 years of Flint and Michigan history with the Flint Journal Collection. Coverage from 1898 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full color image edition.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Note: In Settings > Library Links there is the ability to add “Kettering University” so if we have the full text you’ll be able to click through to our holdings.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar Button extension available in Chrome browser. Scholar Droid app on android.
Journal Search A-Z This link opens in a new window
A searchable listing of all full text online journals available at Kettering University. Where to search if Kettering subscribes to the full text content of a specific journal, or to browse our full text offerings by journal title.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, offers thousands of courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the LinkedIn Learning Online Courses video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Account registration is required HERE using your Kettering email address. NYTimes.com is a multiplatform news resource that provides unlimited access to New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, opinion, blogs, videos, and more.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The most ambitious people in the world read The Wall Street Journal. Winner of 37 Pulitzer Prizes for outstanding journalism, the Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, politics, arts, culture, lifestyle, sports, health and more. It’s a critical resource of curated content in print, online and mobile apps, complete with breaking news streams, interactive features, video, online columns and blogs.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

ALL DATABASES

Linkedin Learning - Leadership

Becoming A Leader
Learn to become a leader others will want to follow. By first developing yourself as a leader, you can take on the most challenging leadership responsibilities: establishing and executing your strategic vision, executing against that vision, and harnessing your most powerful competitive advantage, your people.
Becoming An Inclusive Leader
Leaders at all levels are called on now more than ever to close the gap on what is promised and what is practiced in the area of diversity and inclusion. Learn how to lead an organization that includes everyone and leverages the diverse talents of all contributors.
Develop Your Strategic Planning Skills
Learn how to plan for and anticipate consequences and trends for your business. Discover how to curate information, identify issues, and forge relationships. Learn how to commit to a course of action, develop alternatives, and use facts, resources, and organizational values to achieve your goals.
Leaders Others Effectively
Learn how to influence and support others in the achievement of common goals. Examine how to lead a group and provide inspiration, clarity, and direction. Discover how to rally others and build morale. Learn how to gain commitment by influencing teams to set objectives and buy in on a process.
Women In Leadership
Women who aspire to leadership roles face unique challenges in today's companies. They are passed over for key opportunities, paid less than their male colleagues, and left out of critical networks. In this path, learn essential skills and strategies for success as a leader in the workforce.

See all 16,000+ online courses taught by real-world professionals.in the areas of business, creative and technology!