Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Management Databases

All of Kettering's Management Databases in one place

AVON - Academic Video Online

Avon (Academic Video Online) is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video database that supports the entire curriculum. It delivers over 79,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, science, and more. Included are documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs (including the 60 Minutes collection), training videos, and demonstrations. You will also find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners. Videos on the AVON platform are licensed to be streamed in the classroom with no additional permissions required. Additionally, you can create a free account to enable the ability to edit clips from the videos if you prefer to share only a specific portion of the video with your class. 

From the AVON homepage, there are quite a few features that can help you find the video content that you want. 

 

The search box is on the top right of the page, with filtering near the center (see the red funnel icon). 

The options for filtering are extensive and include subject, publisher, person, content type, langue, and release date. See the image below.

If you would like to edit clips to show for your classes, you will need to create a free account. Click the person icon at the top right of the page, then click "Sign up" near the middle of the page.

Once you create a unique username and password, you will be able to access the "clip" feature to make and share customized clips with your classes. After locating the video you want to edit, press play. When the video plays, you are able to access a bottom menu where an icon of scissors is displayed on the right side. Click the icon to be taken to the editing tool.

If you would like to access either the 60 Minutes collection or the Engineering Case Studies Online collection, you can click the menu at the top left.

After clicking the menu button, you will click "Collections" from the drop-down menu, then select the which of the collections you would like to access.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter