LibGuides: Computer Science + Mathematics + Natural Sciences Databases: Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Note: In Settings > Library Links there is the ability to add “Kettering University” so if we have the full text you’ll be able to click through to our holdings.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar Button extension available in Chrome browser. Scholar Droid app on android.

Using Google Scholar

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Click here to find more information about Google Scholar.

Google Scholar may be a good starting place, but it is not comprehensive enough to be the only place to do in-depth research.

For more precise searching, more search features, and more content, use the library subscribed databases that are most useful for your subject.

What should I do if I am asked to pay for the full text?

Don’t pay for it! Google Scholar often links to commercial publisher websites which ask you to pay for the full text.

First check and see if there is a "Full-text @ Kettering" link next to the article title in the search result page or in the links underneath the citation (you may have to click the arrows to see all results).

If there is no "Full-text @ Kettering" or "Get it @ KU" link, search the library catalog for the book or journal name to check whether we have a print or electronic version of the book or the journal that contains the article.
If the Kettering University Library does not own the book or journal, you can request a copy through Materials on Demand services.

If you have any problem on accessing full text or other questions, please feel free to ask for help at library@kettering.edu.

Finding Articles Using Google Scholar

LINKING KETTERING + GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Did you know you can use Google Scholar to search Kettering databases for articles and journals? It should automatically work if you are logged into Google with your Kettering email address.

If it's not working, after logging in, just go to Settings > Library Links from the Google Scholar homepage and type in Kettering University. Tick the check box and click Save. If we have an article, you'll see the 'Full-Text @ Kettering' link in your Google Scholar search results.

Full-Text @ Kettering

Google Scholar also has an extension for the Chrome Browser worth checking out.