MathSciNet is an indexing database, and does not contain full-text articles. However, the full-text of the articles may be available through the library through their DOI.
Because the articles are available through a variety of databases, creating a persistent link for each will vary.
If you need assistance creating a persistent link for an article found through MathSciNet, please contact the librarians at library@kettering.edu.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 125,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Authors are uniquely identified (by their MR Author ID), enabling a search for publications by individual author rather than by name string. Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 90,000 reviews are added to the database each year. Extending the MR tradition, MathSciNet® contains over 3.6 million items and over 2.3 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 650 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.
From the homepage of MathSciNet, there are four options for searching: Publications, Authors, Journals, and Citations.
The most basic search is Publications. From here, you can search for a general term or phrase by using the "Anywhere" filter. You can narrow your search by choosing other filters or multiple filters at the same time.
Searching using the Authors feature can be helpful for finding all the work a particular author has created, coauthors, reviews of the author's works, and topics the author has published on.
Under Authors, the Mathematics Genealogy Project can be helpful for students looking into graduate school. They can use this feature to find out more about faculty at potential schools, and see information about advising and thesis.
The Journals feature of MathSciNet can be used not only to search for specific journals, but to find in-depth knowledge about journals including their Mathematical Citation Quotient (rank of the journal's impact on the database at large), publications per year, classifications, citations, and top authors. This can be particularly useful for faculty interested in researching journals for publication.
The Citations Search offers a number of ways to learn more about a specific article.
You can find an in-depth guide to using MathSciNet, written by Edward Duane, the Executive Editor of Mathematical Reviews at the American Mathematical Society, by clicking the link below.
Check out the webinar-style tutorials below for helpful tips on using MathSciNet.