LibGuides: Computer Science + Mathematics + Natural Sciences Databases: ACS In Focus E-Book Collection

ACS in Focus ebook Collection

ACS In Focus E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
The ACS In Focus e-books help readers of all levels accelerate their fundamental understanding of emerging topics and techniques from across the sciences. In an instructional setting, these works bridge the gap between textbooks and literature.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication by Banik, Baysinger, Kamat, Pienta
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780841235830
Publication Date: 2020
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.

Creating a persistent link:

To share a persistent link from ACS, you will need to add Kettering University's proxy to ensure all users both on and off campus can access it.

To do so, first, copy the URL from the search bar for the resource you wish to share, which in this case is:

https://pubs-acs-org.kettering.idm.oclc.org/doi/book/10.1021/acs.infocus.7e4001

Next, add Kettering University's proxy BEFORE the URL as shown below:

https://kettering.idm.oclc.org/login?url= added to

https://pubs-acs-org.kettering.idm.oclc.org/doi/book/10.1021/acs.infocus.7e4001 equals the new persistent link:

https://kettering.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://pubs-acs-org.kettering.idm.oclc.org/doi/book/10.1021/acs.infocus.7e4001

ACS offers access to free publication in 81 journals through our transformative agreement with the library. To explore journal options, please use the Journal Finder Tool.

When you are ready to submit an article to a journal through the Journal Finder, you will see a green Select button. From here, you will create an account and follow the steps outlined on the journal submission site.

For more information about publishing under the ACS transformative agreement, please see this resource.

If you need more information about publishing for free through ACS, please contact library@kettering.edu.

Using ACS In Focus

If you are looking for the ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication, click here to be taken to the ebook. If you are not already logged in using the Kettering Authentication System (blue login page), you will be asked to do so in order to access the ebook.

ACS In Focus holds a collection of scientific e-books appropriate for both new and experienced learners of chemical science.

From inside the database, simply enter your search term or title, if you know it, into the search box.

Or, search availability by clicking the "ACS Publications" link at the top of the page.

PLEASE NOTE: Kettering has full access to ACS In Focus. However, it is important to note that some material is published at different times throughout the year, and may not be available in all cases. Also, please ignore the default "Get Access" banner on the homepage; you have access through Kettering!

From here, select your subject area and narrow results further to gain the most accurate results.

Once you select "See All" simply choose the PDF button to view full text of your document.

About this Guide

Information for this guide provided courtesy of ACS In Focus.