Skip to Main Content

ASC's Guide to Select Library Resources: Home

> Check Out Our New Online Dictionary

ASC & Writing Center Information

Academic Success Center

The Academic Success Center provides holistic academic support to all Kettering students to help them become successful independent learners and achieve their educational and professional goals. Located on the 3rd floor of the Academic Building.

Kettering Writing Center

The mission of the Writing Center is to support the Kettering community in all aspects of communication in order to contribute to excellence in teaching, research, and student learning. They provide writing support for students, faculty, and staff.

Linkedin Learning Training Videos

Grammarly

Grammarly Premium is a writing-improvement subscription offered by Kettering University Library, at no additional cost, for all students, faculty, and staff. Grammarly Premium offers over 400 types of checks and features, including checking for grammatical errors, providing vocabulary enhancement suggestions, detecting plagiarism, and providing citation suggestions.

To create an account with Grammarly Premium, log in through the SSO link and follow the prompts to set up your account.

If you have a pre-existing free account, log in through the link above and answer the prompts to upgrade to the Premium version. 

You can read more about Grammarly here.

Library Resources

Kettering University subscribes to standards in the following databases:

If you find an industry standard for your project on Google or by using the search engines listed below, we will try to acquire it for you.  Email requests to: library@kettering.edu

Kettering University Thesis Collections

For alumni thesis requests, contact Dawn Winans at libresearchhelp@kettering.edu

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Database - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.

CASE STUDIES

Are included in our following subscriptions:

Harvard Business Review Case Studies

The HBR case studies fall outside of our subscription to the Harvard Business Review.  If you need a HBR case study for your entire class, you can create a course pack through their website.  Here are some links to follow:

AVON - Faculty can do the following:

  • Create Playlists

  • Embed into Blackboard

  • Snip Specific Clips

LinkedIn Learning - Start in your Blackboard course shell at Content> Build Content> LinkedIn Learning, and the new Blackboard LTI includes the following improvements:

  • Ease in adding LinkedIn Learning content into your Blackboard course shells

  • Improved searching and filtering for content

  • Direct course linking

  • Ability to track student progress

Kettering University Special Collections & Publications

For research assistance or an appointment contact:

Melanie Bazil - Curator of Special Collections
archives@kettering.edu | (810)762-9690

The University Archives is located in the Durant-Dort Factory One building, at 303 W. Water Street near downtown Flint. It's just a twenty minute walk along the Flint River Trail. The Archives document America’s industrial and business heritage with particular focus on the American automobile industry, the city of Flint, and the history of Kettering University.

The William C. Durant Papers, are one of the most significant collections in the Archives documenting the early history of General Motors. The Archives also contain a significant collection of General Motors automotive design artwork. The digital photo collection now exceeds 100,000 images. A partial online catalog along with digitized photos can be found below.

Search our online catalog

 

For assistance contact:

Melanie Bazil - Curator of Special Collections
archives@kettering.edu | (810)762-9690

The Gallery is located on campus in the Learning Commons building.

The Humanities Art Center Collection includes artworks that were donated to Kettering University and contains a permanent collection of 19th and 20th-century work, highlighting artists such as Rockwell Kent, Joan Miro, Victor Vasarely, and Anni Albers. Exhibitions are held regularly in the gallery at the Kettering University Learning Commons.

Browse our Digital Gallery

Office of Institutional Research 

For institutional data requests, please email reporting@kettering.edu.

The Office of Institutional Effectiveness does the following:

  • Determines Official Student Enrollment Numbers
  • Analyzes Student Demographic Information
  • Completes Institutional Surveys from External Sources
  • Responds to Internal Data Requests
  • Administers Student and Alumni Surveys
  • Coordinates Student Course Evaluations
  • Creates New Surveys as Needed
  • Performs Data Analyses as Needed
  • Coordinates, Supports, and Encourages Assessment Efforts

Links:

Documents:

Mango Languages

Mango Languages

Mango has ove 70 languages!  The first step is to create a profile which will help you keep track your progress and use the Mango apps.  Mango Languages also has over 20 courses available to learn English in your own native tongue including Chinese, Armenian, German, and Korean.

Contact The Library

 IN PERSON

  • Librarians and specialists are available in-person at our knowledge bar service desks on the third and fourth floors of the Learning Commons. Please visit this page for hours

VIRTUAL SERVICES:

24-7-icon - NRT WEBSITE

Chat bubbles, chat room, online chatting, talk, web chat iconCHAT

  • To chat KU Librarians, please see browser sidebar on the library website, libguides or searcheverything  

 EMAIL

Chat, discussion, message, messaging, text, texting iconTEXT

  • KU Library available for texting services at 810-255-9009
  • KU Archives available for texting services at 810-255-0022

 PHONE

  • For general inquiries and research assistance, please call the Librarians at 810-762-9598
  • For information regarding materials (books/articles), your library account or reserves, please call Access Staff at 810-762-7814 
  • For historical questions, please call the Archivist at 810-762-9690

ESL Books

We have a collection of leveled readers for English as a Second language. To see what the library owns, click here to access the search. Then type ESL into the search box, and narrow the results by clicking "Physical Materials in Library" on the left side of the results.

Related LibGuides

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter