LibGuides: MECH 446 / 646: Vehicle Systems Dynamics: Mechanical Engineering Resources

Engineering Standards

American Society for Testing and Materials [ASTM] Compass Standards This link opens in a new window
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Contains full text and the most current, up to date standards.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
International standards for scientists and engineers.
IEEE Xplore [Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers] This link opens in a new window
Mostly full text. Access to journals, articles, engineering standards, conference proceedings, and some ebooks published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. To limit to full text: Advanced Search > Content Filter > Subscribed Content.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Engineering, Aerospace, Communication, Networking, Broadcasting, Circuits, Computing & Processing, Robotics, Transportation, Photonics & Electro-optics, Electromagnets
[1998 to present]
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Full-text Technical papers from 1998-present from the Society of Automotive Engineers as well as Ground Vehicle Standards. Indexing of all SAE publications back to 1996 (full text for the 2021 journals) and STAPP Car Crash Conference papers 1966 to the present. SAE Mobilus technical papers are peer reviewed.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

FMVSS - Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards
NHTSA issues Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) to implement laws from Congress. These regulations allow us to fulfill our mission to prevent and reduce vehicle crashes. This government database covers a wide array of vehicle safety standards and is searchable by topic or standard number.

TechStreet This link opens in a new window
This purchasing platform increases access to engineering standards unavailable in our ASTM, IEEE, and SAE subscriptions and currently includes unlimited access to ISO 26262: 1-12. Contact the library for more information (library@kettering.edu). Files may require downloading FileOpen to access.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

ANSI Webstore
Search for standards from over 150 standards publishers. If you find a standard that fits your project, request the standard at library@kettering.edu

ISO Standards

ISO 26262 - Road Vehicles - Functional Safety - Parts 1-12

Tools

EndNote Site License This link opens in a new window
Kettering University Library has a Campus-Side Site License for EndNote 21. Please visit this page for more information on how to download: https://my.kettering.edu/page/endnote

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Grammarly Premium This link opens in a new window
Grammarly Premium is a subscription offered by Kettering University Library for students, faculty, and staff. Grammarly Premium offers over 400 types of checks and features, checks for grammatical errors, provides vocabulary enhancement suggestions, detects plagiarism, and provides citation suggestions. Grammarly also has an integrated AI tool, GrammarlyGO.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

Begin Your Research Here

The Library’s SearchEverything Box which is located at the top of our homepage is the gateway to research! It allows you to search 95% of our resources at one time. Search for books, ebooks, journal articles, and more...

Engineering Databases

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Access Engineering is an award-winning engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. Access Engineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work. Includes access to Perry's Chemical Engineering Handbook, Shaum's Outlines, and curriculum maps.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines. Content derives from leading trade journals, professional and technical society publications, and conference proceedings.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers [ASME] Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes full access to over 200 new and classic ASME ebooks.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
An open-access, pre-print archive for 1,949,000+ scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects—Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
American Society for Materials [ASM] Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Contains a vast array of content related to materials properties, processing, performance, and applications. Includes handbooks, technical books, the Failure Analysis Database, Alloy Digest, technical articles, conference proceedings, and more.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
engrXiv Preprint Archive This link opens in a new window
engrXiv (engineering archive) is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently. Includes working papers, pre-prints, published papers, data, code, systematic reviews, hypotheses, and negative results.
American Society for Testing and Materials [ASTM] Compass Standards This link opens in a new window
ASTM International is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Contains full text and the most current, up to date standards.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
International standards for scientists and engineers.
Auto Repair Source This link opens in a new window
Repair information and schedules, diagrams, parts and labor estimates, service alerts, and recalls. Covers thousands of domestic and imported vehicles.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Mostly full text, a major business resource that includes access to business news, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and Harvard Business Review. Also included are thousands of relevant videos.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Engineering Case Studies This link opens in a new window
Engineering Case Studies provides in-depth coverage, both text and videos, on engineering failures from around the world.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Note: In Settings > Library Links there is the ability to add “Kettering University” so if we have the full text you’ll be able to click through to our holdings.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar Button extension available in Chrome browser. Scholar Droid app on android.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
This business topics database contains industry market research, reports, and statistics.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
IEEE Xplore [Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers] This link opens in a new window
Mostly full text. Access to journals, articles, engineering standards, conference proceedings, and some ebooks published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. To limit to full text: Advanced Search > Content Filter > Subscribed Content.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Engineering, Aerospace, Communication, Networking, Broadcasting, Circuits, Computing & Processing, Robotics, Transportation, Photonics & Electro-optics, Electromagnets
[1998 to present]
IOPscience [Institute of Physics] This link opens in a new window
Full text. Search interface for access to over 60 peer-reviewed journals in the physical sciences, including over 100 ebooks. The library offers free publishing through a transformative agreement with this subscription.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Physics, Environmental & Earth Science, Fluid Dynamics, Nuclear Fusion, Astrophysics, Quantum Electronics
Journal Search A-Z This link opens in a new window
A searchable listing of all full text online journals available at Kettering University. Where to search if Kettering subscribes to the full text content of a specific journal, or to browse our full text offerings by journal title.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Knovel Science + Engineering Collection This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
We subscribe to the following collections:
Electrical & Power Engineering
Industrial Engineering & Operations Management
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, offers thousands of courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the LinkedIn Learning Online Courses video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Full-text Technical papers from 1998-present from the Society of Automotive Engineers as well as Ground Vehicle Standards. Indexing of all SAE publications back to 1996 (full text for the 2021 journals) and STAPP Car Crash Conference papers 1966 to the present. SAE Mobilus technical papers are peer reviewed.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Able to limit to full-text. ScienceDirect is the leading database for journal articles and eBooks in science, engineering, and medical literature. The subscription contains over 3,700 journals with a large majority being peer-reviewed, nearly a million articles and over 100 electronic books/ series/handbooks.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
To limit results to full text: Click on 'Journals & Books' at the top > Refine your search using left menu > Choose by Access Type: Subscribed & complimentary and/or Open access
Small Engine Repair Source This link opens in a new window
Contains repair guides covering routine maintenance and complex projects for all major makes and models. Browse by engine type, brand, model, and model number to find the information you need.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. Over 100,000 full text eBooks and over 1,900 full text journals.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Statista Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
Provides direct access to quantitative data (statistics, forecasts, studies, dossiers and industry reports) on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Includes current infographics and many links to original full text reports.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Business, Finance, Marketing, Media, Politics
TechStreet This link opens in a new window
This purchasing platform increases access to engineering standards unavailable in our ASTM, IEEE, and SAE subscriptions and currently includes unlimited access to ISO 26262: 1-12. Contact the library for more information (library@kettering.edu). Files may require downloading FileOpen to access.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citations only (no full text) with article linker to full text within Kettering’s subscribed content. Access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, with complete cited reference searching and citation mapping. Features backward and forward citation searching.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: Sciences—Material, Chemistry, Physics, Neuroscience, Medicine, Engineering, Geosciences, Math, Computers, Energy, Biology, Food Science, Veterinary, Information Science, Management, Astronomy, Psychiatry, Optics
WorldCat: Books, DVDs, CDs & Articles from all over the world This link opens in a new window
Worldwide catalog of library holdings. Search for books, music, and videos and WorldCat lets you find that item and locate a library nearby that has it. If Kettering doesn't have the book we can usually obtain it through here.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.