Award-winning engineering reference tool that provides seamless access to the world's best collection of authoritative, updated engineering reference information. Includes dynamic online features, such as videos, data visualization, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as access to Perry's Chemical Engineering Handbook and Schaum's Outlines.
Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Creating a persistent link:
Navigate to the resource you wish to share. Near the top of the resource, select "share":
From the pop-up window, select "proxy link". Copy and paste the link provided.
Searching Access Engineering is very easy. You can enter any combination of terms, titles, or authors to initiate the search in the box at the top of the page. You can also click any of the tabs below the search to open new menus or topic areas.
On the bottom half of the homepage, you can access the database's interactive tools: DataVis, Spreadsheets, Videos, Graphs & Tables, Solution Walkthroughs, and Case Studies.
Once you enter search terms, the results page will have resource type filters at the top of your results. There are other filters on the left side of the page, such as subject area, industry, and more.
Once you select the material you want to view, click the title to open the resource. Once you open it, you can scroll down for the abstract of the work, search within the book, visit the individual chapters, and access supplemental materials, like videos or spreadsheets. This database does NOT allow you to download the entire book, only individual chapters.
If you scroll down, clicking the arrow next to the chapter title will open the sub-categories within that chapter. You can keep clicking down until you find the exact section you're looking for.
You can then choose "Download PDF" to download the chapter, or you can click one of the sub-headings to start reading that section in the browser.
Designed by faculty, AccessEngineering’s DataVis is the interactive, web-based data visualization tool that transforms the way students learn about material properties. DataVis instantly displays property data in interactive dot-plots and scatterplots across a wide range of materials. Our carefully curated dataset of 200 materials and 65 properties—including cost—provides students with enough data to learn about material properties without overwhelming them.
Many students are able to apply formulas without fully understanding the concepts behind the formulas, or why a property for a material has a particular value. DataVis bridges this gap by presenting material property data in dynamic visualizations that enable students and faculty to tell a story with the data.
Sample DataVis project on the "Influence of Material Properties" from the University of the Pacific:
