The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2021 by
#1 New York Times Bestseller! Get thousands of facts at your fingertips with this essential resource: business, the arts and pop culture, science and technology, U.S. history and government, world geography, sports, and so much more. The World Almanac® is America's bestselling reference book of all time, with more than 83 million copies sold. For more than 150 years, this compendium of information has been the authoritative source for school, library, business, and home. The 2021 edition of The World Almanac reviews the biggest events of 2020 and will be your go-to source for questions on any topic in the upcoming year. Praised as a "treasure trove of political, economic, scientific and educational statistics and information" by The Wall Street Journal, The World Almanac and Book of Facts will answer all of your trivia needs effortlessly. Features include: 2020 Election Results: The World Almanac provides a comprehensive look at the entire 2020 election process, from the roller coaster of the early primaries to state and county presidential voting results and coverage of House, Senate, and gubernatorial races. 2020 Coronavirus Pandemic: A special section provides up-to-the-minute information about the world's largest public health crisis in at least a century, providing information on what scientists know about the virus so far--and what still needs to be learned--along with an update on vaccine progress, statistical data and graphics, and useful practical measures for readers. World Almanac Editors' Picks: Memorable Summer Olympic Moments: The World Almanac took a look back at past editions of the Olympic Summer Games to create a highlight reel of memorable moments to tide sports fans over until Tokyo in 2021. 2020--Top 10 News Topics: The editors of The World Almanac list the top stories that held the world's attention in 2020. 2020--Year in Sports: Hundreds of pages of trivia and statistics that are essential for any sports fan, featuring complete coverage of the sports world's response to the COVID-19 pandemic, a preview of the Olympic Games in Tokyo, and much more. 2020--Year in Pictures: Striking full-color images from around the world in 2020, covering news, entertainment, science, and sports. 2020--Offbeat News Stories: The World Almanac editors found some of the strangest news stories of the year. World Almanac Editors' Picks: Time Capsule: The World Almanac lists the items that most came to symbolize the year 2020, from news and sports to pop culture. The World at a Glance: This annual feature of The World Almanac provides a quick look at the surprising stats and curious facts that define the changing world. Statistical Spotlight: This annual feature highlights statistics relevant to the biggest stories of the year. These data provide context to give readers a fresh perspective on important issues. Other New Highlights: Newly available statistics on how the COVID-19 pandemic and widespread shutdowns have affected businesses, air quality, employment, education, families' living situations and access to food, and much more.
Plunkett's Engineering and Research Industry Almanac 2020 by
This reference book is a complete guide to the trends and leading companies in the engineering, research, design, innovation and development business fields. This carefully-researched volume covering the dominant firms in engineering-based design and development, as well as leaders in technology-based research and development. This book will put the entire Engineering and Research industry in your hands. You'll find our analysis provides a complete overview of the industry along with market research reports in one superb, value-priced package."The convenience for a typical user makes this volume very attractive for the support of job-seekers and investors. Excellent overview for students, researchers and executives."American Reference Books Annual
Plunkett's Automobile Industry Almanac 2021 by
The automobile industry is evolving rapidly on a worldwide basis. All of the biggest, most successful firms have become totally global in nature. Plunkett's Automobile Industry Almanac will be your complete guide to this immense, fascinating industry. This exciting new book is a complete reference tool for everything you need to know about the car, truck and specialty vehicles business, including: Automotive industry trends and market research, mergers and acquisitions, globalization, automobile manufacturers, truck makers, specialty vehicles such as RVs, automobile finance and other financial services, dealerships, components manufacturers, retail auto parts stores, e-commerce and more. We discuss in detail developments in China, India and other emerging markets, collaboration and partnerships between auto makers, as well as batteries, hybrids and plug in hybrid vehicles (PHEV). . You'll find our analysis provides a complete overview of the industry along with market research reports in one superb, value-priced package."A detailed guide to the auto, truck and specialty vehicle industry-includes information on dealerships, market share, automotive e-commerce and component manufacturing." BUSINESS HORIZONS, Kelley School of Business, Indiana University
Plunkett's Chemicals, Coatings and Plastics Industry Almanac by
The chemicals manufacturing industry is a vibrant, global business that encompasses many important sectors: from commodity chemicals, to specialty chemicals, to custom manufacturing. In addition, the pharmaceuticals industry is included when discussing chemicals. Plunkett's Chemicals, Plastics & Coatings Industry Almanac provides a market research tool for competitive intelligence, strategic planning, business analysis and employment searches. Our coverage includes business trends analysis and industry statistics. You'll find our analysis provides a complete overview of the industry along with market research reports in one superb, value-priced package."One of the most useful parts of the text was the company profiles for the Chemicals 400?Will complement the collections of large public and academic libraries."American Reference Books Annual
Plunkett's Almanac of American Employers 2021 by
Market research guide to American employers. Includes hard-to-find information, such as benefit plans, salaries, hiring plans, corporate culture and growth plans. Features indexes, tables, job market trends analysis and 7 Keys For Research. Includes our proprietary profiles of the 500 best, largest and fastest-growing corporate employers in America. You'll find a complete overview, industry analysis and market research report in one superb, value-priced package."Of obvious value as a guide for job-seekers?Useful for researchers, marketing executives and personnel professionals."Pittsburgh Business Times-Journal
Kettering University Library has access to a number of general reference materials such as almanacs, biographies, almanacs, dictionaries, directories, atlases, and encyclopedias. These can be a great starting place for your research!
Road to Power by
Follow a pioneer's journey from factory floor to CEO Road to Power is the story of how Mary Barra drove herself to the pinnacle of a company that steers the nation's wealth. Beginning as a rare female electrical engineer and daughter of a General Motors die maker, Barra spent more than thirty years building her career before becoming the first woman to ever lead a global automaker. With $155 billion in sales and 200,000 employees, GM is widely considered to be a proxy for the U.S. economy, making Barra's position arguably the most important corporate role a woman has ever held. This book describes the personal character, choices, and leadership style that enabled her to break through the glass ceiling. When 52-year-old Mary Barra was named CEO of General Motors in 2013, only people outside of the company were surprised. She had done everything from working on the factory floor to overseeing manufacturing, from improving union relations to paring down bureaucracy, and from running human resources to helping drag the company back from its 2009 bankruptcy. This book details each step of her career, and the lessons she learned along the way. Learn how Mary Barra's willingness to take on diverse assignments helped steer her career trajectory Examine the fine details of Barra's management style and her ability to relate to colleagues Discover the qualities and experiences Barra had that drove her to lead this male-dominated profession Study the valuable lessons Barra learned at each stage in her professional life, and why they stuck with her throughout her journey to the top Barra is most certainly a pioneer for women in business, but she's also a living lesson as to how far the right outlook, skills, and drive can take you in your career. Road to Power explores the talent and the mindset that got her all the way to the top.
Billy Durant by
Praise for the first edition: "A fascinating book [and] a sympathetic look at the man who glued General Motors together and in the process made Flint one of the great industrial centers of America." ---Detroit Free Press "It is refreshing to report that Billy Durant is one of the best researched books dealing with an automotive giant." ---Antique Automobile "Billy Durant fills in a masterly way the only important void remaining concerning the work of the motorcar pioneers." ---Richard Crabb, author of Birth of a Giant: The Men and Incidents That Gave America the Motorcar What explains Billy Durant's powerful influence on the auto industry during its early days? And why, given Durant's impact, has he been nearly forgotten for decades? In search of answers to these questions, Lawrence Gustin interviewed Durant's widow, who provided a wealth of previously unpublished autobiographical notes, letters, and personal papers. Gustin also interviewed two of Durant's personal secretaries and others who had known and worked with the man who created General Motors. The result is the amazing account of the mastermind behind what would become, as the twentieth century progressed, the world's largest company.
Billy, Alfred, and General Motors by
You couldn't find two more different men. Billy Durant was the consummate salesman, a brilliant wheeler-dealer with grand plans, unflappable energy, and a fondness for the high life. Alfred Sloan was the intellectual, an expert in business strategy and management, master of all things organizational. Together, this odd couple built perhaps the most successful enterprise in U.S. history, General Motors, and with it an industrythat has come to define modern life throughout the world. Their story is full of timeless lessons, cautionary tales, and inspiration for business leaders and history buffs alike. Billy, Alfred, and General Motors is the tale not just of the two extraordinary men of its title but also of the formative decades of twentieth-century America, through two world wars and sea changes in business, industry, politics, and culture. The book includes vivid, warts-and-all portraits of the legends of the golden age of the automobile, from "Crazy' Henry Ford, Ransom Olds, and Charles Nash to the brilliant but uncredited David Dunbar Buick and Cadillac founder Henry Leland. The impact of Durant and Sloan on their contemporaries and their industry is matched only by the powerful legacy of their improbable and incredible partnership. Characters, events, and context - all are brought skillfully and passionately to life in this meticulously researched and supremely readable book." "
Tesla by
The definitive account of Tesla's life and work Nikola Tesla was a major contributor to the electrical revolution that transformed daily life at the turn of the twentieth century. His inventions, patents, and theoretical work formed the basis of modern AC electricity, and contributed to the development of radio and television. Like his competitor Thomas Edison, Tesla was one of America's first celebrity scientists, enjoying the company of New York high society and dazzling the likes of Mark Twain with his electrical demonstrations. An astute self-promoter and gifted showman, he cultivated a public image of the eccentric genius. Even at the end of his life when he was living in poverty, Tesla still attracted reporters to his annual birthday interview, regaling them with claims that he had invented a particle-beam weapon capable of bringing down enemy aircraft. Plenty of biographies glamorize Tesla and his eccentricities, but until now none has carefully examined what, how, and why he invented. In this groundbreaking book, W. Bernard Carlson demystifies the legendary inventor, placing him within the cultural and technological context of his time, and focusing on his inventions themselves as well as the creation and maintenance of his celebrity. Drawing on original documents from Tesla's private and public life, Carlson shows how he was an "idealist" inventor who sought the perfect experimental realization of a great idea or principle, and who skillfully sold his inventions to the public through mythmaking and illusion. This major biography sheds new light on Tesla's visionary approach to invention and the business strategies behind his most important technological breakthroughs.
Never at Rest by
This richly detailed 1981 biography captures both the personal life and the scientific career of Isaac Newton, presenting a fully rounded picture of Newton the man, the scientist, the philosopher, the theologian, and the public figure. Professor Westfall treats all aspects of Newton's career, but his account centres on a full description of Newton's achievements in science. Thus the core of the work describes the development of the calculus, the experimentation that altered the direction of the science of optics, and especially the investigations in celestial dynamics that led to the law of universal gravitation.
The Strangest Man by
Paul Dirac was among the greatest scientific geniuses of the modern age. One of Einstein's most admired colleagues, he helped discover quantum mechanics, and his prediction of antimatter was one of the greatest triumphs in the history of physics. In 1933 he became the youngest theoretician ever to win the Nobel Prize in Physics. Dirac's personality, like his achievements, is legendary. The Strangest Man uses previously undiscovered archives to reveal the many facets of Dirac's brilliantly original mind.
Feynman and His Physics The Life and Science of an Extraordinary
This book takes the reader on a journey through the life of Richard Feynman and describes, in non-technical terms, his revolutionary contributions to modern physics. Feynman was an unconventional thinker who always tried to get to the bottom of things. In doing so, he developed an intuitive view that made him one of the greatest teachers of physics. The author captures this development and explains it in the context of the zeitgeist of modern physics: What revolutionary ideas did Feynman have, what contribution did he make to the development of quantum mechanics and quantum field theory, how can Feynman's methods be understood? Be enchanted by this book and understand the physics of the genius whose 100th birthday was celebrated in 2018.
Alan Turing: the Enigma by
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The official book behind the Academy Award-winning film The Imitation Game, starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley It is only a slight exaggeration to say that the British mathematician Alan Turing (1912-1954) saved the Allies from the Nazis, invented the computer and artificial intelligence, and anticipated gay liberation by decades--all before his suicide at age forty-one. This New York Times-bestselling biography of the founder of computer science, with a new preface by the author that addresses Turing's royal pardon in 2013, is the definitive account of an extraordinary mind and life. Capturing both the inner and outer drama of Turing's life, Andrew Hodges tells how Turing's revolutionary idea of 1936--the concept of a universal machine--laid the foundation for the modern computer and how Turing brought the idea to practical realization in 1945 with his electronic design. The book also tells how this work was directly related to Turing's leading role in breaking the German Enigma ciphers during World War II, a scientific triumph that was critical to Allied victory in the Atlantic. At the same time, this is the tragic account of a man who, despite his wartime service, was eventually arrested, stripped of his security clearance, and forced to undergo a humiliating treatment program--all for trying to live honestly in a society that defined homosexuality as a crime. The inspiration for a major motion picture starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley, Alan Turing: The Enigma is a gripping story of mathematics, computers, cryptography, and homosexual persecution.
Oxford Arabic Dictionary by 
A Concise Dictionary of Middle English from A.D. 1150 to 1580 by 
Merriam-Webster
For more than 150 years, in print and now online, Merriam-Webster has been America's leading and most-trusted provider of language information.
Farsi-English/English-Farsi (Persian) Concise Dictionary
Collins Robert French Unabridged Dictionary, 9th Edition by 
Compact Oxford German Dictionary by 
Management Dictionary / English-German by 
Wörterbuch der Chemie / Dictionary of Chemistry by 
Wörterbuch Labor / Laboratory Dictionary by 
Mini Hindi Dictionary by 
Oxford English-Hindi Dictionary by 
Mini Japanese Dictionary by 
Japanese English Bilingual Visual Dictionary by 
Oxford Chinese Dictionary by 
Mosby's Medical Dictionary by 
Russian for All Occasions by 
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Science Education
The Encyclopedia of Science Education provides a comprehensive reference work covering the range of methodologies, perspectives, foci, and cultures of this field of inquiry, and to do so via contributions from leading researchers from around the globe. Because of the frequent ways in which scholarship in science education has led to developments in other curriculum areas, the encyclopedia will have significance beyond the field of science education.
