LibGuides: Reference : Management

Top Business Journals

Kettering subscribes electronically to 11 of the top 20 Business journals as determined by Journal Citation Reports and Google Scholar. These journals are listed below and are a good place to start your research.

Off-campus students will need their entire 14-digit Kettering ID to gain access. If you do not have your student number, please contact the library.

Administrative Science Quarterly
1956-Present
International Journal of Management Reviews
1999-present
International Review of Economics
2006-1 year ago
Journal of Business Ethics
1982-Present
Journal of Consumer Research
1974-Present
Journal of Marketing
1936-Present
Management Science
1954-60 Months Prior to Current Date
Organization Science
1990-5 years ago
Quarterly Journal of Economics
1886-1 year ago

Open Access Business Journals

Open access means unrestricted online access to peer-reviewed scholarly research.

This is a list of quality business OA journals that can be accessed free from anywhere.

Business: Theory & Practice
Publishes original research, reviews, and case studies on all areas of strategic management and organizational behaviour.
Businesses
Research and findings of business studies including: entrepreneurship, finance and accounting, economy and business, strategic management, business and industrial marketing, business and environment, business history, business law.
Global Advances in Business Communication
Original research on interdisciplinary business practices which shape and are shaped by the changing nature and level of global business communication.
more...less...
Established in 2012.
-International and cross-cultural business communication and negotiations
-Global aspects of integrated marketing communications (IMC)
-Communication aspects of international law and global business ethics
-Languages and business communication
-E-Semantics (a term coined here to mean cross-cultural, language-based international issues associated with new media, search terms, string searches, web design, web site user friendliness, and Internet and electronic advertising)
Journal of Business Studies Quarterly
Dedicated to advancing the scholarship and practice in business.
more...less...
Established in 2009. Human resource management, organizational behavior, diversity management, leadership, accounting, economics, finance, marketing, strategic management, international business, education, planning, productivity improvement, time management, and computer use in managerial decisions.
Schmalenbach Journal of Business Research (SBUR)
Scope includes traditional and emerging business administration areas, including accounting, finance, marketing, strategic management, organization, human resource management, production and logistics management, taxation, digital business, and entrepreneurship.

Government Resources

U.S. Department of Commerce
The official website, containing national information regarding business and commerce. Includes a Newsroom, economic indicators, blogs, resources and services.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)
Access "Survey of Current Business" along with regional, national, international, and industry data. Topics include GDP, personal income, corporate profits, balance of payments, trade, direct investment, annual industry accounts, and more.
U.S. Commercial Service: Your Global Busines Partner
Market research library.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Information about U.S. consumer spending.
Survey of Consumer Finances
A cross-sectional survey of American families. Data on families' balance sheets, pensions, income, and demographic characteristics.

Management Reference Web Links

Consumer Expenditures Survey
Program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers.
Current Industrial Reports of the U.S. Census Bureau
Provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity through timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.
Economic News Releases
Updated Major Economic Indicators including the detailed Consumer Price Index (CPI) reports.
Fortune 500 Lists
Global Edge Database for Business Knowledge
Delivers a comprehensive research tool for academics, students and businesspeople.
MarketingCharts.Com
This site provides access to a collection of about 2,500 charts and data files related to marketing, with a special focus on marketing in the media industry.
NationMaster
NationMaster was founded by Luke Metcalfe back in 2003. He was a fan of the CIA World Factbook but wanted to give it context, comparing countries side by side and calculating everything per capita. From there, NationMaster turned into the internet’s one stop shop for international statistics - a place where you can compare anything at all.
Survey of Current Business
The latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates.

Helpful Related Guides

Downloading ebooks

The Kettering University Library has access to over 1 million ebooks in our collection. These books can easily be found using our online catalog here, and are distinguishable from print books by a green "Available Online" tag.

Many books are available to Read Online (as shown above); however, to download chapters or the book in its entirety, you will need to download Adobe Digital Editions. This is a one-time download (per device) and is completely free. You will automatically be prompted to download this ereader if you select an ebook that requires it. Simply select "Save File" when prompted.

Agree to the terms, select next, and the download will install.

Online Management Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Sustainable Management by Samuel Idowu, René Schmidpeter, Nicholas Capaldi et. al
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 3030020061
Publication Date: 2020
This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and up-to-date source of reference for sustainability in business and management. It covers both traditional and emerging concepts and terms and is fully international in its scope.
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Strategic Management by David J. Teece (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780230537217
Publication Date: 2018
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Strategic Management has been written by an international team of leading academics, practitioners and rising stars and contains almost 550 individually commissioned entries covers both the theoretical and more empirically/practitioner oriented side of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Creativity, Invention, Innovation and Entrepreneurship by Elias G. Carayannis
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9783319153469
Publication Date: 2020
The second edition of this exhaustive work (ECIIE) comprehensively covers the broad spectrum of topics relating to the process of creativity and innovation, from a wide variety of perspectives (e.g., economics, management, psychology, anthropology, policy, technology, education, the arts) and modes (individual, organization, industry, nation, region).
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information: a Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers, 4th Edition by Hal P. Kirkwood
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781440851315
Publication Date: 2020
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information is a resource for finding and understanding business information.
Understanding Business Strategy by Lourdesamy Iruthayasamy
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9789813365414
Publication Date: 2021
This book cuts through the strategy verbiage to get to the fundamentals of business strategy--its meaning, formulation, and implementation.
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information: a Guide for Librarians, Students, and Researchers, 4th Edition by Hal P. Kirkwood
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781440851315
Publication Date: 2020

Business & Management Databases

A-Z Business Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives and 2 million new businesses. Includes data on over 240 million residents as well as new movers/homeowners. Special features include a background and criminal history search. Information provided on U. S. healthcare professionals. Includes a jobs database and email marketing.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains 295,000+ multidisciplinary eBooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and DRM-free chapter downloads. Content is hosted on the ProQuest’s eBook Central platform and available to browse in the Library Catalog/SearchEverything. To download eBook, you may need to install Adobe Digital Editions.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Business Book Summaries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides concise, comprehensive summaries of the best business books. Professionals and students can use these to keep up with the latest information in the business world.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Central & Eastern European Academic Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research database of full-text scholarly journals published in central and eastern European countries. Recently updated to include double the full-text journal content, this multidisciplinary and multilingual database covers many subjects including business, economics, history, STEM and law.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
EBSCO eBook Business Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A key resource for academic and business school libraries. You may access the full text of over 23,000 eBooks from your computer, or download titles to most popular portable devices.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of detailed information concerning nonprofit American membership organizations of national scope. Covers more than 23,000 organizations in categories such as trade, business, and commercial; legal, governmental, public administration, and military; cultural; educational; veterans, hereditary, and patriotic; athletic and sports; fan clubs, and many more.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for business students and researchers. It provides insights on entrepreneurship and small businesses topics. Offers full text business journals, magazines, reference books, case studies, and company profiles. Now includes thousands of related videos.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Some full text. A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, and universities. Note: In Settings > Library Links there is the ability to add “Kettering University” so if we have the full text you’ll be able to click through to our holdings.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Google Scholar Button extension available in Chrome browser. Scholar Droid app on android.
Legal Information Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Navigate legal matters of all kinds with reliable “how-to” information,
Nolo legal guides, and thousands of federal and state-specific legal forms.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Legal Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly resource of current issues, studies, and trends of the legal world. For attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, and paralegals. Full text and peer review search options available.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad collection of popular full-text magazines and reference books. Contains Consumer Reports. Covers subjects including: business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, DIY, and fashion. Also includes photos, maps, and flags.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces from 1990. Includes newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines, and newswires.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings. Over 100,000 full text eBooks and over 1,900 full text journals.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Small Business Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, legal guidance, advice section, and details on how to create business plans.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.

ALL DATABASES