LibGuides: Reference : GRE

GRE Study Materials

Gre Math Workbook by Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions Staff
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .G736 2015
ISBN: 9781625232991
Publication Date: 2015
GRE Premier 2017 with 6 Practice Tests by Kaplan
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .G747 2016
ISBN: 9781506203225
Publication Date: 2016
GRE Premier 2018 with 6 Practice Tests by Kaplan Test Prep and Admissions Staff
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .G737 2017
ISBN: 9781506219837
Publication Date: 2017
GRE® Verbal by Kaplan
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .G735 2015
ISBN: 9781625232984
Publication Date: 2015
Princeton Review GRE Premium Prep 2023 by The Princeton The Princeton Review
ISBN: 9780593450611
Publication Date: 2022-07-05
GRE Verbal Reasoning Chart
ISBN: 9781423234944
Taking GRE and TOEFL and Applying for a MS/PhD: a Self-Help Guide for Engineering and Physical Sciences Students by Pradeep Kumar Pasricha (Editor)
ISBN: 1536176990
Publication Date: 2020-06-05

GRE eBooks

These ebooks are available from Learning Express Library.

501 Quantitative Comparison Questions
Publication Date: 2007
Standardized tests like the GRE® and SAT® use quantitative comparison questions to assess math skills. This eBook provides targeted practice on these questions to attain higher scores and to help you master this question type.
501 Sentence Completion Questions
Publication Date: 2007
High school entrance exams, PSAT, SAT, and GRE, as well as professional and civil service qualifying exams, use vocabulary words in context to test verbal aptitude. Test-takers must choose the correct word out of five possible choices. Correct answers are fully explained using their definitions, to reinforce skills.
GRE Vocabulary Flash Review
Publication Date: 2011
This portable guide features 600 essential GRE vocabulary flashcards, bound in a convenient book format, along with definitions, sample sentences, synonyms, and a pronunciation key for each term.

Linkedin Learning GRE Video Course

In this course, full-time GRE tutor Vince Kotchian guides you through a complete preparation plan for the exam. He extensively covers the three major components of the GRE: analytical writing, verbal reasoning, and quantitative reasoning. He also outlines the structure of the exam, explains how to study effectively, and provides test-taking strategies.

Test Prep: GRE

Preparing for the GRE Test

Kettering Library has many resources to help you prepare to take the GRE Test, including books, ebooks, and online practice tests.

The GRE General Test measures your verbal reasoning, quantitative reasoning, critical thinking and analytical writing skills — skills that have been developed over a long period of time and are not related to a specific field of study but are important for all. There are three test sections — Verbal Reasoning, Quantitative Reasoning and Analytical Writing.

Quick Links:

Practicing

All Michigan residents and Kettering students have access to Learning Express Library a database of practice tests and vocabulary exercises.

LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a resume builder you can save, edit, and print. Over 700 courses, practice tests, tutorials, eBooks, and flashcards. Practice tests include ACT, SAT, PSAT and TOEFL, as well as trade certification, civil service, math and reading tests, and U.S. citizenship. Create a free account to access tools to help you do well on your college admissions tests and essay.

Click here for Database Tutorial made by KU Librarians.
Subjects: ACT/SAT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, PSAT/NMSQT, CLEP, Math Skills, Vocab + Spelling, Grammar

Practice Tests

The GRE Test Prep section of Learning Express Library.

GRE Analytical Writing Practice Test 1
This practice test will familiarize you with the Analytical Writing measure of the paper-based GRE® General Test. You'll respond to two test-like writing tasks, view top-scoring sample responses and see how your official essays will scored.
GRE® Analytical Writing Practice Test 2
This practice test will familiarize you with the Analytical Writing measure of the paper-based GRE® General Test. You'll respond to two test-like writing tasks, view top-scoring sample responses and see how your official essays will scored.
GRE® Quantitative Reasoning Practice Test 1
Get authentic practice for the Quantitative Reasoning measure of the paper-based GRE® General Test. Includes 50 questions that assess your math skills. Includes an instant score report that will help target your strengths and weaknesses.
GRE® Quantitative Reasoning Practice Test 2
Get authentic practice for the Quantitative Reasoning measure of the paper-based GRE® General Test. Includes 50 questions that assess your math skills. Includes an instant score report that will help target your strengths and weaknesses.
GRE® Verbal Reasoning Practice Test 1
Get authentic practice for the Verbal Reasoning measure of the paper-based GRE® General Test. Includes 50 questions that assess your verbal reasoning ability. Includes instant scoring that will help target your strengths and weaknesses.
GRE® Verbal Reasoning Practice Test 2
Get authentic practice for the Verbal Reasoning measure of the paper-based GRE® General Test. Includes 50 questions that assess your verbal reasoning ability. Includes instant scoring that will help target your strengths and weaknesses.

GRE Test Prep Course

Below, you will find an entire course dedicated to preparing for and taking the GRE. You can choose to take the course in its entirety, or just sections applicable to your needs. Some of the topics in the course include:

Structure of the GRE
GRE scoring
GRE Essay examples
Test-taking math skills and more!

Circulating Books

MATERIALS YOU CAN CHECK OUT

Kettering has study books for several types of GRE exams.

5 Lb. Book of GRE Practice Problems by Manhattan Prep Staff
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .F58 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Developed for students taking the Revised GRE General Test, the 5 lb. Book of GRE Practice Problems provides over 1,800 practice questions (more than any other book) that include everything from beginner-level problems to over 200 of the toughest problems available anywhere.
Cracking the GRE Premium Edition with 6 Practice Tests 2017 by Princeton Review Staff
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .C73 2017
ISBN: 9781101919699
Publication Date: 2016
THE ALL-IN-ONE SOLUTION FOR YOUR HIGHEST POSSIBLE SCORE! Get all the prep you need for your best score on the GRE with The Princeton Review, including 6 full-length practice tests, thorough topic reviews, and exclusive access to our online Premium Portal with tons of extra practice and resources. Techniques That Actually Work. * Powerful tactics to avoid traps and beat the test * Step-by-step problem-solving guides * 9 strategies to maximize time and minimize errors Everything You Need to Know for a High Score. * Expert subject review for all test topics * Bulleted chapter summaries for quick review * Extensive GRE vocabulary list featuring key terms and exercises Practice Your Way to Perfection. * 6 full-length practice tests with detailed answer explanations (2 in the book; 4 online) * Drills for each test section--Verbal, Math, and Writing * Thorough score reports for online tests Plus, with Cracking the GRE, Premium Edition you'll get online access to our exclusive Premium Portal for an extra competitive edge: * Key info about grad school admissions, testing calendars, and financial aid * Video tutorials that break down strategies for each section of the GRE * Multi-week study plan guides * Examples of successful b-school essays and interviews with admissions officers * Special "GRE Insider" section packed with helpful info about grad school admissions, application requirements, and more
Essential GRE Vocabulary by Princeton Review Staff
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .E884 2010
Publication Date: 2009
500 ESSENTIAL VOCABULARY WORDS TO HELP YOU BOOST YOUR GRE SCORE! * Words and parts of speech on the front* Definitions, contextual sentence, and synonyms on the back, so you can really understand and remember each word * Color-coded scale under the cover so you can easily track your progress * Includes 50 customizable cards for you to fill in the terms you most need to study
GRE® Math by Kaplan
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .G736 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Kaplan's Math Workbook for the GRE, 9th Edition, comprehensively addresses the math section of the GRE Revised General Test. This workbook is a highly effective way to prepare for the math section of the GRE Revised General Test.
GRE® Premier 2015 with 6 Practice Tests by Kaplan
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .G747 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Kaplan's GRE Premier 2015 contains 2,200+ total practice questions with detailed explanations, covering the Verbal, Quantitative, and Analytical Writing sections, and strategies for handling all the question types you'll encounter on Test Day. It also comes with study plans to help you make the most of your time preparing for the GRE.
GRE® Verbal by Kaplan
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .G735 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Kaplan's Verbal Workbook for the GRE, 8th Edition, comprehensively addresses the Verbal Reasoning and Writing sections of the GRE Revised General Test. Kaplan gives you everything you need to boost your Verbal score on the GRE, including the most effective strategies, comprehensive practice, and tools to conquer every question on Test Day.
Kaplan New GRE Vocabulary Flashcards by Kaplan
Call Number: LB 2367.4 .G7354 2011
Publication Date: 2011
With this fully updated and revised edition of New GRE Flashcards, students can take advantage of flashcards featuring 500 of the toughest and most probable words on the exam, along with their definitions, synonyms and a pronunciation key for every word on every flashcard.