Liberal Arts Databases

FDsys Retirement and Transition to govinfo

GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) website has been retired and replaced by govinfo. FDsys links are now redirecting to govinfo.

What do I need to know about the transition?

• FDsys links are now redirecting to govinfo.

• What are the differences between FDsys and govinfo?

  govinfo provides access to the same publications and search functionality as FDsys did, but has a new look and new features.

  govinfo is a redesign of the FDsys public website, with a focus on implementing feedback from users and improving overall search and access to electronic Federal Government information. The redesigned, mobile-friendly website incorporates innovative technologies and includes several new features for an overall enhanced user experience.

  GPO remains committed to ensuring authenticity, integrity, and preservation of more than a million Federal documents on govinfo. This includes the application of digital signatures on PDF files and operation of the govinfo repository as an ISO 16363 Trustworthy Digital Repository.

  The govinfo website offers several enhancements to the way you accessed publications on the FDsys website. Here are some of the govinfo enhancements:

• Clean, mobile friendly design – try using govinfo on the mobile device of your choice.
• Linked related documents – link to select related documents right from the Details page for 7 collections
• Curated feature articles
• Quick and easy social sharing – look for Share buttons across the site
• Browse collections A-Z and by Category
• Sortable search filters – sort collections alphabetically, dates chronologically, and more
• RSS notification feeds
• Custom landing pages – see an example
• Link service and API – learn about all developer tools
• Customizable, open source search engine – making your results more relevant than ever
• Shorter, more user friendly URLs
• Expanded help information – includes tutorials and handouts
• New features based on your feedback – follow our progress through Release Notes

About govinfo

govinfo is free U.S. Government information for all

govinfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.

govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

govinfo is more than just a website

In addition to providing an advanced, metadata-powered search experience, govinfo also includes a content management system and a standards-compliant preservation repository.

These three components comprise GPO’s world-class system for the comprehensive management of electronic information:

1. Public access - GPO combines modern search technology with extensive metadata creation to ensure the highest quality search experience. Users can easily access documents for free by searching or browsing the mobile-friendly website.
2. Content management – GPO securely controls digital content throughout its lifecycle to ensure content integrity and authenticity. This includes the application of digital signatures to PDF files so users can verify documents have not been altered and are the official versions.
3. Digital preservation – GPO’s standards-compliant preservation repository follows archival system standards and ensures content is preserved for future generations despite technical failure, aging of hardware, or technological change.
   GPO is seeking to become the first Federal agency to be named as a Trustworthy Digital Repository for Government information through certification under ISO 16363. 

What can I find on govinfo?

See what's available, including information on individual publications or collections of content, or view an alphabetical list of collections, publications, other resources, and external partner sites.

Tutorials

Tutorials explaining what services GovInfo provides and how to use it can be found here

Information in this guide provided compliments of govinfo.