Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Liberal Studies Databases

All of Kettering's Liberal Studies Databases in one place

Digital Commons

Using Digital Commons

About Digital Commons @ Kettering University

Digital Commons @ Kettering is an institutional repository designed to store, showcase and share works created by members of the Kettering University community. Developed by the Kettering University Library, Digital Commons provides the university community with a platform for publishing and accessing content produced by faculty, students, and staff.

Digital Commons @ Kettering makes the collective works of Kettering University available to the University community and, where permissible, to the public. The repository documents the history and growth of the university, as well as current progress in engineering and automotive research. Members of the Kettering University academic community are invited to contribute completed scholarship for long-term preservation and worldwide electronic accessibility.

As well as being indexed by Google, Digital Commons content is also a part of the Digital Commons Network and Google Scholar.

The scope and policies of the repository will be determined by the Digital Commons Steering Committee. To learn more about Digital Commons, Open Access and related concepts, please visit our Digital Commons LibGuide.


About Institutional Repositories

Institutional Repositories (IRs) bring together all of a university's research under one umbrella, with an aim to preserve and provide access to that research.

IRs are an excellent vehicle for working papers or copies of published articles and conference papers. Presentations, senior theses, and other works not published elsewhere can also be published in the IR.

To learn more about Institutional Repositories, please visit bepress' IR research page.

 

Digital Commons Mission Statement


In support of scholarship and research Digital Commons @ Kettering University will: 

  • Collect, organize, provide access to, and archive the research, scholarship, and other significant institutional records of Kettering University.

  • Create global visibility for our campus by highlighting the deep knowledge of individual faculty members and institutional research that reflects the intellectual culture and learning environment of Kettering University.

 

Digital Commons Services


Services available from Digital Commons include:

  • INSTITUTIONAL REPOSITORY - Digital Commons provides global access to the digital scholarly and cultural resources created by the Kettering community. Our staff regularly monitor the most popular publication resources for new research and creative work by our own faculty. When a work is located it is added to the repository along with descriptive information which will enable it to be easily located by internet users. Our stall also ensures that all copyright and publishers licensing agreements are followed. Faculty may also submit their own work and our staff will review it and add descriptive information if needed. 
  • FACULTY PROFILES - An online presence is crucial for our faculty and researchers. Digital Commons Staff will create an online profile in our Faculty Works portal for each faculty author featuring their body of work along with a brief bio, their research interests and other information. Faculty have the option to monitor readership of their work, communicate with their readers and update their profiles.
  • RESEARCH DATA HOSTING AND CURATION - Providing access to research data is increasing important. Digital Commons provides supports all file types and formats and has unlimited storage capacity. Our staff is available to help you define you research data needs and ensure that you data is secured for the future.
  • ePUBLISHING - Digital Commons enables faculty, students and others create and manage online journals, books and conference proceedings. Complete publication services are available including online submission, peer-review and editorial management. Scholars' Mine is an excellent alternative to expensive commercial publishers and our staff is available to assist you.

 

For Research:

You can find the Digital Commons linked on the library's homepage, or visit from here. Once in the Digital Commons, you will be able to search in a variety of ways!

From the sidebar, you can choose to search by collection, discipline or author. 

 

You can also take advantage of the search box on the left-hand side of the screen. Once you find an item of interest, you will be able to download in full text, or be re-routed to where the item can be viewed or purchased online, depending on copyright. 

Examples of types of works the Digital Commons currently houses include: 

  • Faculty Scholarship
  • ABET Documentation
  • Faculty Senate 
  • Autodrive Challenge 
  • Crash Safety Center 

To view the full library of Digital Commons webinar tutorials, click here or the image below. 

 

To Participate:

We encourage all faculty to participate in the Digital Commons! Participation allows you to share your research and expertise with researchers around the world, collect all your work in one location, further open access to information, connect with other scholars, and keep track of when are where downloads are taking place.  To join the many faculty that already do so, please sign the author agreement (below) and a librarian will be in touch to begin the process. 

Librarians manage the uploading of published works, so providing a CV or link to an online platform where your published work can be found is all we need to get started. 

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter