Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Liberal Studies Databases

All of Kettering's Liberal Studies Databases in one place

Literary Reference Center

Using Literary Reference Center

Content Includes

  • More than 36,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
  • More than 77,000 articles/essays of literary criticism
  • More than 230,000 author biographies
  • More than 370 full-text literary journals
  • More than 920,000 book reviews
  • More than 100,000 classic and contemporary poems
  • More than 27,000 classic and contemporary short stories
  • More than 10,000 author interviews
  • More than 8,000 classic novels

Superior Content

Combining information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals and original content from EBSCO, Literary Reference Center features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and full-text essays from leading publishers. It also includes literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and book reviews from the most prestigious publications. It offers poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews and much more.

Additional Highlights Include:

  • Reference texts including Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, and all of MagillOnLiterature Plus
  • Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature featuring nearly 10,000 entries
  • Informational texts on numerous literary genres, themes and forms, as well as critical essays on specific works and authors
  • Research Guide to Literary Research, Writing and Critical Reading
  • Literary glossary featuring more than 1,700 terms
  • Lesson plans to support classroom instruction
  • Rich multimedia content to enhance curriculum delivery

Searching Literary Reference Center

To search Literary Reference Center, you have quite a few options. You may input your query into the search bar, or browse by authors, works, publications or more.

 

One extremely usual feature of Literary Reference Center is full-text pdfs of many classic literature works. 

To access these works simply select "Full Text Classics" from the side bar.

 

From here, browse for your desired classic.

 

 

Then, click on the title to view the full details.

 

 

On the left-hand side of the screen, you can select the full-text pdf to view.

 

About this Guide

Information for this guide provided compliments of EBSCO.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter