Skip to main content

All Databases

A how-to guide to each of Kettering's databases.

60 Minutes Collection

Using 60 Minutes Collection

For the first time ever, nearly two decades of television’s most preeminent program are available online in one expansive streaming video resource.

The 60 MINUTES: 1997–2014 collection from Alexander Street Press grants unprecedented access to the CBS News archives from this period, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast. This entire collection is only available from Alexander Street Press for the academic market.

60 MINUTES is one of the most successful television programs in American history. On top of more than 100 Emmy wins and 20 Peabody Awards, it holds the record for the longest continuously running primetime program in the history of television. With as many as 25 million viewers tuning in for its Sunday night broadcasts, 60 MINUTES remains among the most respected, influential TV journalism programs in the world.

About the Collection

This online collection provides 350 hours of high-definition video from 17 years of broadcasts, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world. True to 60 MINUTES’ iconic style, each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. The broad range of content offers boundless applications for students and researchers. Some of the greatest disciplinary strengths of 60 MINUTES include:

• History • International Affairs • Women’s Studies
• Business & Economics • Psychology • African American Studies
• Health Sciences • Society and Culture • Politics
• Law • Performing Arts • Plus many more

The collection delivers the highest caliber reporting from acclaimed journalists including Mike Wallace, Ed Bradley, Charlie Rose, Anderson Cooper, Lesley Stahl, Morley Safer, Lara Logan, Steve Kroft, Bob Simon, and others. Reports cover a broad swath of contemporary topics and issues, with segments including:

• “The Islamic State” • “Steve Jobs” • “401K Recession”
• “The Cost of Cancer Drugs” • “Brazil” • “War Against Women”
• “Inside the NSA” • “130 Million Tons of Waste” • “Deepwater”
• “Sheryl Sandberg” • “Patented Genes” • “Justice at Guantanamo”
• “Killing Bin Laden” • “Watching the Border” • “Identities For Sale”
• “Treating Depression” • “Screening the TSA”  

This resource also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the popular CBS News program Sunday Morning, whose timely news pieces, cultural features, and newsmaker profiles form an ideal complement to 60 MINUTES content. The addition of this bonus programming brings the collection to a total of 525 hours of high-quality CBS News content.

Library Homepage

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter